Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

New Jersey Marijuana Laws

The past few years have seen dramatic changes in state marijuana laws across the country. With some states legalizing medical marijuana, and other states continuing to outlaw marijuana altogether, it can be hard to keep track of the relevant laws in your state. Read on for an overview of New Jersey’s laws regulating the use of marijuana.

In general, state marijuana laws are usually much less severe than those state laws prohibiting hard drugs, such as cocaine and heroin. New Jersey marijuana laws allow for the use of medical and recreational marijuana, but also have mandatory minimum penalties for large amounts and/or sale of the substance. For example, those with a doctor's recommendation may possess up to 6 oz of marijuana per month; but non-medical possession of that same amount is a felony charge punishable by 18 months of incarceration.

Details of New Jersey's recreational marijuana laws are listed below. You can learn about their changing medical marijuana laws. See FindLaw's Drug Charges section for additional information.

Code Section

24:21-1, et seq.; 2C:35-2, et seq.

Possession

Up to 6 oz for individuals over 21 years old

Sale

Legal for licensed cultivators and dispensaries only

Trafficking

Leader of narcotics trafficking network: life (25 year minimum before parole) and/or $500,000

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a New Jersey drug crime attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

More Information

For more information on New Jersey’s marijuana laws, feel free to click on the links below to access additional resources. You can also learn more about marijuana and other drugs, in general, by taking a look at FindLaw’s section on drug charges. Finally, if you have more specific questions, or are facing marijuana-related charges, contact a local drug crime lawyer.

Research the Law

New Jersey Marijuana Laws: Related Resources

Charged Under New Jersey Marijuana Laws? Contact an Attorney

Having a legal defense strategy is your best bet for avoiding jail time. If you've been charged with a marijuana-related crime in New Jersey, it's in your best interest to contact a local drug crime attorney to discuss your case and get help crafting your defense.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options