New Jersey Marriage License Laws
If you want to get married in New Jersey, you'll have to get a marriage license first. Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a New Jersey marriage license.
You and your future spouse both have to appear at the clerk's office ("marriage license bureau"). These offices are usually located in the county probate court or circuit court. Next, you'll fill out an application (PDF), sign it, and pay a $28 license fee. You'll need to wait three (3) days before you can get your license.
If either person was previously married, he or she must show certified documents on how previous marriage ended such as divorce, annulment, or death.
Also, you don't have to have a physical examination or get a blood test to receive a marriage license in the Garden State .
|Code Section||New Jersey Code Title 37: Marriages and Married Persons|
|Where to Obtain a License||Local Registrar|
Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 18 may enter into a marriage with parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, or Family part.
None, but the marriage license application must be submitted in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides. The license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey.
If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
|Same Sex Marriage||Yes, and also civil unions and domestic partnerships.|
|Blood Test Requirement||
|How Long is the License Valid?||30 days from the date of issuance.|
|Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?||Judges of a Federal District Court, United States magistrates, Judges of a Municipal Court, Judges of the Superior Court, Judges of a Tax Court, Retired judges of the Superior Court, Judge or the Superior or Tax Court who has resigned in good standing, any Mayor/Deputy Mayor or Chairman of any Township Committee, Village President of New Jersey, County Clerks, and every minister of every religion.|
|Prior Marriage?||If you've been married before, you'll need to present to the court your divorce decree.|
|Waiting Period||Yes, 72 hours.|
|Where to Request Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree||Your local Registrar's Office|
|Witnesses||A witness, 18 years of age or older.|
Because marriage laws can sometimes get complicated, it may also be a good idea to consult an experienced family law attorney if you have questions about your specific situation.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.