New Jersey Theft and Larceny Laws
The crime of larceny or theft occurs when a person deprives another of their property rights. Theft (larceny) is similar to robbery, another property crime, but the use of force is used in robbery. There's no difference between theft and larceny; the only distinction made is that the jurisdiction determines which term is used. New Jersey uses the term theft to criminalize unauthorized taking offenses that include shoplifting, theft by deception, and extortion. The majority of theft crimes classification is based on the property value amount involved.
Disorderly Persons Theft
The least serious theft offenses are classified as disorderly persons offenses. The offenses can be either a disorderly persons theft or a petty disorderly persons theft which include thefts of property valued at less than $200. In contrast, a second degree theft, the most serious offense, involves property valued at $75,000 or more.
New Jersey Theft/Larceny Laws at a Glance
The chart below provides a summary of statutes related to New Jersey's theft laws, including links to important code sections.
Theft: Statutory Definitions
Movable property: Unlawfully taking or exercising unlawful control of another's movable property with the intent to deprive the owner.
Immovable property: Unlawfully transferring any interest in another's immovable property in order to benefit himself/herself or another person who isn't entitled to the benefits.
Theft (Disorderly Persons Offense): Punishable by up to 6 months in jail if it's a disorderly persons offense; punishable by up to 30 days for a petty disorderly persons offense and possible fines.
Fourth Degree Theft: if the value of the property is at least $200, but less than $500, it's punishable by up to 18 months in jail and/or a fine up to $10,000 or double the amount of the victim's loss, whichever is greater.
Third Degree Theft: Punishable by imprisonment term ranging from 3-5 years and/or a fine up to $15,000, or double the amount of the victim's loss, whichever is greater.
Second Degree Theft: Punishable by imprisonment term ranging from 5-10 years and/or a fine up to $150,000 or double the amount of the victim's loss, whichever is greater.
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
New Jersey Theft and Larceny Laws: Related Resources
- New Jersey Criminal Laws
- New Jersey Shoplifting: Penalties
- Theft Defenses
- Larceny Penalties and Sentencing
Need Help with Your Theft Case? Find an Attorney
New Jersey's theft and larceny laws cover a wide range of offenses. If you've facing charges, then it's in your best interest to talk to a skilled attorney who can help you resolve your specific case. Get in touch with a local criminal defense attorney today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.