What to Do After a Truck Accident in New Jersey

Created by FindLaw's team of legal writers and editors.

Most people will be involved in a car accident at some point in their lives. With any luck, it'll be a minor one with little to no injuries or property damage. But if it's an accident involving a truck, there could be significant damages, both in terms of physical injuries and vehicle damage. Because of this, states and the federal government have a variety laws regulating commercial trucking.

Commercial Trucking Regulations

Most states and the federal government have created rules and regulations when it comes to commercial trucks. In New Jersey, the Department of Transportation provides information on trucking regulations, including licensing, registration, and operating requirements.

For example, commercial trucks in New Jersey are required to display the name of the truck's owner, the municipality where their primary place of business is located, and the gross vehicle weight (GVWR) of the truck.

Commercial truck drivers are also required to have a Commercial Driver's License (CDL), which subjects the license-holder to more stringent driver testing requirements than a regular driver's license. A CDL is required to drive a truck with a GCWR over 26,001 pounds or any vehicle that transport hazardous material requiring a placard.

Overview of What to Do After a Truck Accident in New Jersey

In the following chart you can find an overview of information relating to what to do after a truck accident in New Jersey, as well as links to relevant statutes. It's always a good idea to read statutes for yourself, but this overview is a helpful summary - written in plain language.

Statute(s)

New Jersey Statutes, Title 39, Chapter 4, Article 15, Section 39:4-129, et seq. (Accidents and Reports)

Reporting Requirements for Accidents

A truck accident must be reported to law enforcement and the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Agency if:

  • There was more than $500 in property damage; or
  • A person was injured or killed.
Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit after a truck accident in New Jersey will depend on the injuries you suffered as a result of the accident:

  • Injury to person: 2 years
  • Property damage: 6 years
  • Wrongful death: 2 years (from the date of the victim's death)

Related Statute(s)

New Jersey Statutes, Title 2A, Subtitle 4, Section 2A:15-1, et seq. (Civil Actions)

New Jersey Statutes, Title 39. Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

What to Do After a Truck Accident in New Jersey: Related Resources

If you'd like additional information and resources related to this topic, please visit the links provided below.

Talk to a Lawyer About What to Do After a Truck Accident in New Jersey

Car accidents can cause serious injuries and property damage, especially when a large commercial truck is involved. If you'd like personalized guidance on what to do after a truck accident in New Jersey, it's best to speak with a skilled personal injury attorney near you.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.