New York Marriage Age Requirements Laws

Getting married at any age involves a lot of careful consideration and planning. But when you plan to marry at a young age, there might be even more complications that arise compared to couples who marry later in life.

There are several states that have don't have a minimum age requirement for marriage, meaning that a child as young as 14 or 15 can get married as long as the minors obtain parental consent. However, New York is not one of those states. In fact, the state takes marriages of people under 18 very seriously. Based upon concerns regarding the relationship between married minors and domestic violence and other negative ramifications, the state lawmakers took measures to combat child marriage and increased the legal marriage age (without consent) from 14 to 18. Any marriage where one of the parties is under 18 is strictly prohibited.

New York Marriage Age Requirement Laws at a Glance

Although the statute regarding New York's marriage age requirements is fairly straight forward, it can be helpful to unpack the law even further using an explanation with everyday language. See the chart below for a concise summary of New York's marriage age requirements in plain English.

Statute

Marriage with consent

Marriage for anyone under the age of 14 is strictly prohibited. Any clerk who knowingly issues a marriage license for a marriage of this kind is guilty of a misdemeanor.

A 17 year old can marry with the consent of the New York Supreme Court or Family Court.
Process for marriage for 17 year olds.

  • Appointment of an attorney for the minor: The law mandates that an attorney (with training in domestic violence and forced marriage) represent the 17 year old requesting consent to marry.
  • Notification: The judge informs the minor of their rights including rights to domestic violence services.
  • Review: The judge investigates any warrants or orders of protection in the state registry attributed to either party.
  • Interview: The judge interviews both parties of the intended marriage and issues a written finding.

Marriage age without consent

Anyone who is 18 and older may marry without the court's consent. However, the intended spouses must comply with other marriage requirements and must follow the proper procedures.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Related Resources for Prohibited Consensual Activity Laws:

Talk about New York Marriage Age Requirements with an Attorney

Although the institution of marriage comes with a certain degree of privacy, the state does have authority in this area: New York's marriage age requirement laws are intended to protect its residents. If you need help with this issue, contact an experienced family law attorney in your area today.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.