State adoption laws establish the rules and procedures for adoption, including requirements for prospective parents. These laws set the rules for who may be adopted, who may adopt, reasons for prohibiting an adoption, the age a child's consent is needed, and more.
In addition, most states require the completion of a so-called "home residency" before the adoption is finalized, which is intended to ease the transition for all parties involved. The home residency, which usually takes about six months, also gives the adoption agency and state officials an opportunity to make sure the adoption is a good fit for all parties involved.
North Dakota Adoption Laws at a Glance
Anyone who needs a home may be adopted in North Dakota, which is standard in most states, but prospective parents must have the consent of children 10 and older in order for the adoption to go through. Most adults are eligible for adoption in the state. North Dakota also requires a six-month home residency prior to finalizing the adoption.
The following table lists additional details of adoption laws in North Dakota. See FindLaw's Adoption section for more articles and resources.
|Code Section||14-15-01, et seq. Revised Uniform Adoption Act|
|Who May Be Adopted||Any person|
|Age that Child's Consent Needed||10 years and older|
|Who May Adopt||
The following individuals may adopt:
|Home Residency Required Prior to Finalization of Adoption?||6 months|
|State Agency/Court||Human Services/District|
|Statute of Limitations to Challenge||1 year|
Note: State laws are subject to change at any time through the decisions of higher courts, enactment of new legislation, and other means. While we strive to ensure the accuracy of these pages, you also may want to contact a North Dakota adoption law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
North Dakota Adoption Laws: Related Resources
Contact a qualified attorney.