Ohio Marriage Licenses and Blood Tests

Marriage is a legal as well as a spiritual and/or personal relationship. As such, you'll need to get an Ohio marriage license by contacting the Ohio Probate Court and filling out an application.

You and your future spouse both have to appear at the clerk's office, fill out an application, sign it, and pay a license fee, depending on the county. You can get your marriage license immediately. There isn't a waiting period.

If either person was previously married, he or she must show certified documents on how previous marriage ended such as divorce, annulment, or death.

Also, you don't have to have a physical examination or get a blood test to receive a marriage license in the Buckeye State.

The following table highlights the main provisions of Ohio's marriage laws. See Marriage Laws Overview, prenuptial agreements, Tips for Marriage, and Marriage FAQs for more information.

Code Section Ohio Revised Code Section 3101.01
Where to Obtain a License Ohio Probate Courts
Age Requirements

18 years old. 16 years old with parental consent

Residency Requirement None, but Ohio residents wanting to marry in Ohio, apply in the county where they reside. Otherwise, out of state residents must apply in the county in which they are getting married.
Identification Requirements

Both parties must have picture identification (Driver license, Military ID, Passport)
Both parties must provide typed proof of their social security number showing full name and Social Security number such as a Social Security card, W2 form, tax return, bank statement, or pay stub.

Same Sex Marriage No
Blood Test Requirement

No

Fees $60
How Long is the License Valid? 60 Days
Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony? Marriages are to be performed by an ordained minister of any religious society or congregation within the state licensed to perform marriages; the Probate Court Judge or any other judge appointed as a probate judge; a Judge of a Municipal Court; the mayor of a municipal corporation in any county in which such municipal corporation wholly or partly lies, the superintendent of the state school for the deaf; or any religious society, in conformity with the rules and regulations of its church. You can learn more here.
Prior Marriage? If you've been married before, you'll need to present to the court your divorce decree.
Waiting Period None
Where to Request Marriage Certificate or Divorce Decree Ohio Office of Vital Statistics (PDF)
Witnesses None required

Because marriage laws can sometimes get complicated, it may also be a good idea to consult an experienced Ohio family law attorney if you have questions about your specific situation.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.