Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Ohio Protective Orders Laws

Note: If you or someone you know is the victim of domestic violence or otherwise in danger, contact the Ohio Domestic Violence Network at 1-800-934-9840.

Overview of Ohio Protective Orders

A protective order, also referred to as a "restraining order," is a court order requiring a named individual to stay a specified amount of distance away from the person seeking the order. Typically, they are used to protect victims of domestic violence from their attackers. Under Ohio protective order laws, orders may last for up to five years but may be extended by the court.

Penalties and Consequences of Violating a Protective Order

Anyone who violates the terms of a protective order may be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail. Two more violation involving the same person (who is the subject of the order) is a fifth-degree felony, which carries a maximum 12-month prison sentence. In certain situations, the court may also require violators to wear electronic monitoring devices.

Getting Help from Ohio's Domestic Violence Program

The Ohio Supreme Court's Domestic Violence Program, which works with local courts to provide support services for victims, provides downloads (PDF, Doc) to help you file a protective order:

Learn more about Ohio protective order laws in the following table. See Domestic Violence: Order of Protection and Restraining Orders for more information.

Code Section 3113.31
Activity Addressed by Order Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling, school, employment; regarding minors: temporarily allocate parental rights, visitations, support, counseling
Duration of Order Maximum 5 years, may be renewed; or upon court action for divorce
Penalty for a Violation of Order 1st degree misdemeanor
Who May Apply for Order Person, parent or adult household member on behalf of other family or household member
Can Fees Be Waived? Yes
Order Transmission to Law Enforcement Copy to all law enforcement agencies with jurisdiction
Civil Liability for Violation of Order Yes, contempt of court

Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact an Ohio domestic violence attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

Ohio Protective Orders Laws: Related Resources

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options