Ohio Robbery Laws

Every state has its own definition of robbery, but it's generally defined as using force or intimidation in the course of committing theft. Ohio separates robbery into two categories: aggravated robbery and robbery. While specific actions separate the two statutes, the common conduct is that the actions occur while committing or attempting to commit a theft offense, or fleeing after a theft offense. An interesting note about Ohio's aggravated robbery law is that it includes removing or attempting to remove a deadly weapon from a police officer. In order to violate the statute, the offender must know or have reasonable cause to know that the victim is a police officer and the removal or attempt must occur while the police officer is acting within his or her duties. Both robbery and aggravated robbery are classified as felonies in Ohio.

Ohio Robbery Laws Overview

Below you will find key provisions of robbery laws in Ohio.

Statutes

Ohio Revised Code Title XXIX. Crimes Procedure Section 2911.01 & Section 2911.02

Charges

Aggravated Robbery (Section 2911.01): It's a first degree felony to do any of the following while attempting to commit or committing a theft offense, or fleeing immediately after the attempt or offense:

  • Have a deadly weapon and either show the weapon or use it;
  • Have a dangerous ordnance; or
  • Inflict, or attempt to inflict, serious physical harm on another.

Robbery (Section 2911.02):

  • It's a second degree felony to have a deadly weapon or inflict, attempt to inflict, or threaten to inflict physical harm on another while committing or attempting to commit a theft offense, or fleeing after the offense.
  • It's a third degree felony to use or threaten the immediate use of force against another while committing or attempting to commit a theft offense, or fleeing after the offense.

Penalties

Conviction under Ohio's robbery laws can result in imprisonment and fines:

  • First degree felony: prison term of 3 to 11 years and fines not exceeding $20,000.
  • Second degree felony: prison term of 2 to 8 years and fines not exceeding $15,000.
  • Third degree felony: prison term of 9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months and fines not exceeding $10,000.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Ohio Robbery Laws: Related Resources

If you'd like more information related to this topic, please click on the links below:

Get Legal Help with Your Robbery Case in Ohio

Robbery is a serious offense and conviction under Ohio's robbery laws can result in prison time and have a lasting effect on your life. If you've been charged with violating any of Ohio's robbery laws, it may be in your best interest to consult with a criminal defense attorney in Ohio to ensure that your rights are protected.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.