What to do After a Truck Accident in Ohio
From Cleveland to Cincinnati, Ohio is an important trucking corridor connecting the northeast to the Midwest and beyond. It's home to the Ohio Turnpike, over 241 miles of open road hugging Lake Eerie. With such long stretches of freeway through Ohio, it's nice to have full service truck stops for a quick rest or to stay overnight. However, even with the occasional rest stop drawing trucks off the road, Ohio truck accidents are unfortunately an inevitable occurrence. Whether caused by fatigue, harsh weather, or some other combination of factors, truck accidents can result in significant property damage and personal injuries and can sometimes lead to criminal charges.
It may not be easy to remember what to do after the initial shock of a truck accident in Ohio, but there are some important laws you need to understand, such as when a report is required or how long you have to file a claim for your damages.
Get all the Information at the Scene
The most important thing to do right after an accident is to determine whether anyone requires medical attention. If so, you should immediately call 911 for assistance. After that, it's important to document as much information from the scene as possible, such as:
- Names and contact information for drivers/witnesses;
- Driver's license numbers and expiration dates for drivers;
- Insurance information with policy numbers and carrier contact information;
- Information about your location and what led to the crash;
- Weather and road conditions;
- The extent of any physical injuries; and
- Pictures of the scene and damage to vehicles or other property.
It's critical for all involved drivers to stop at the scene of an accident, or else they could face hit and run charges. In fact, under Ohio law, a driver "having knowledge of the accident or collision" must stop at the scene and provide his or her name and address and vehicle registration information. If an injured person is unable to understand and record the information (perhaps due to their injuries), then the driver must stay at the scene until authorities arrive, regardless of the damage involved.
In some cases, parties to a truck accident can file a "Crash Report" with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles including those involving:
- Personal injuries or property damage in excess of $400 (likely in a truck accident case); and
- A vehicle driver/owner lacked insurance coverage at the time of the accident.
The crash report doesn't need to be filed the same day as it can be submitted within six months after the accident.
Ohio Truck Accident Laws at a Glance
You can learn more about Ohio truck accident laws by reviewing the information in the chart below.
Ohio Revised Code Section 2305.10 (statute of limitations)
Ohio Revised Code Section 4506.15 (prohibited acts for commercial drivers)
Ohio Revised Code Section 4549.02 (requiring drivers to stop after accidents on public roads or highways)
|Statute of Limitations||
Personal Injury: 2 years from the date of the accident
Property Damage: 2 years from the date of the accident
|Possible Recoverable Damages||
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Related Resources for Ohio Truck Accident Laws
- Ohio Accident and Injury Laws
- Ohio Car Accident Compensation Laws
- Pain and Suffering Damages in Ohio
Involved in an Ohio Truck Accident? An Attorney Can Help
With all of the freight-bearing trucks on Ohio's roads, it's critical to be alert and attentive when driving. However, it's also important to understand what to do after an accident to protect yourself. Consider contacting an Ohio accident attorney near you who specializes in truck accidents.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.