Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Oklahoma Gun Control Laws

Each state restricts the purchase and use of firearms under its own gun control laws. Although the Second Amendment permits citizens to keep and bear arms, certain weapons and accessories, like sawed-off shotguns, are illegal under Oklahoma law.

The state imposes no waiting period for prospective gun buyers, but they must be of the legal age to purchase and can't have a felony conviction on their record.

Federal firearms statutes also regulate gun ownership, generally by restricting the kinds of guns a person may legally own.

Oklahoma Gun Laws Overview

The following table summarizes Oklahoma's gun laws.

Relevant Statutes (Laws)

Oklahoma Statutes Title 21, Part VI, Chapter 53, Sections 1271.1 through 1290.27

Illegal Arms

Oklahoma prohibits the possession of sawed-off shotguns and sawed-off rifles.

Waiting Period

Oklahoma does not have a waiting period to purchase a gun.

Who May Not Own

In Oklahoma, it is unlawful to possess a firearm if a person:
  • Has been convicted of any felony
  • Has been previously adjudicated as a delinquent child or a youthful offender for an act that would be a felony offense if committed by an adult
  • Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States

License Required?

A license is not required to own or purchase a gun in Oklahoma.

Concealed Carry License Required?

If a person is at least 21 years old and may legally purchase and possess a firearm, they do not need a permit to carry a concealed firearm.

Open Carried Allowed?

If a person is at least 21 years old and may legally purchase and possess a firearm, they do not need a permit to open carry a firearm.

Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License

A handgun license is not required in Oklahoma, but the state offers a license for people who wish to carry a firearm in other states. To be eligible for a handgun license, a person must:
  • Be a citizen or lawful permanent resident of the United States with established residency in Oklahoma
  • Be at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age and a member of the military
  • Complete a firearms safety and training course and demonstrate competence and qualifications with the type of gun to be carried
  • Not be ineligible to possess a pistol due to any felony conviction or adjudication as a delinquent
  • Not have been adjudicated as a mentally incompetent person
  • Not make any false or misleading statement on the application for a handgun license
  • Not have a conviction for certain assault and battery misdemeanor offenses, stalking, violation of a protective order, or domestic violence misdemeanors
  • Not have attempted suicide or any other condition relating to, or indicating, mental instability or an unsound mind which occurred within the preceding 10-year period from the date of the application
  • Not currently be undergoing treatment for a mental illness, condition, or disorder
  • Not have significant character defects as evidenced by a criminal record indicating habitual criminal activity
  • Not be ineligible to possess a pistol under Oklahoma or federal law
  • Not have an outstanding felony warrant
  • Not have an arrest for an alleged commission of a felony offense
  • Not have a deferred sentence or deferred prosecution of a felony offense
  • Not have any involuntary commitment for a mental illness, condition, or disorder
  • Not have previously undergone treatment for a mental illness, condition, or disorder which required medication or supervision
  • Not have received inpatient treatment for substance abuse
  • Not have two or more convictions of public intoxication
  • Not have two or more misdemeanor convictions relating to intoxication or driving under the influence of an intoxicating substance or alcohol
  • Not have a court order for a final Victim Protection Order against the applicant
  • Not have an adjudicated delinquent or convicted felon residing in the residence of the applicant
  • Not have an arrest for an alleged commission of, a charge pending for, or a deferred prosecution for certain assault and battery misdemeanor offenses, stalking, violation of a protective order, or domestic violence misdemeanors

Machine Gun Laws

  • Oklahoma prohibits a person convicted of a felony, or a person adjudicated delinquent for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, from possessing a machine gun.
  • Oklahoma has no general prohibition against possessing a machine gun, but federal law outlaws machine gun possession with limited exceptions.

Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession

The punishment for violating Oklahoma's gun laws depends on the offense. The following are common offenses and their penalties:
  • Unlawful carrying of a firearm is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days imprisonment and by a fine of $100 to $250
  • A second or subsequent offense for unlawful carrying of a firearm is a misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to 3 months imprisonment and a fine of $250 to $500
  • Possessing a firearm after being convicted of a felony is a felony punishable by imprisonment for 1 to 10 years and a fine up to $10,000
  • Possessing a sawed-off shotgun or a sawed-off rifle is a felony punishable by up to 2 years imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000

Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds

Illegal possession of a gun on school grounds is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $250.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Oklahoma Gun Control Laws: Related Resources

Seek the Advice of an Oklahoma Attorney

If you have questions about your right to own a gun or have been charged with a gun crime, consider contacting an Oklahoma criminal defense attorney.

An attorney can give specific advice about your unique circumstances.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options