Oklahoma Indecent Exposure Laws
Indecent exposure is a type of sex crime that involves the offender exposing his or her genitals in public. Each state has its own laws that specify which acts of pubic nudity qualify as indecent exposure. The following table outlines Oklahoma's indecent exposure statute.
|Oklahoma Code section 21-1021: Indecent Exposure|
Willfully and knowingly doing any of the following:
There is an exception for public urination, see below.
|Felony. Punishable by a fine of between $500 and $20,000 and/or by imprisonment for between thirty days and 10 years.|
In Oklahoma, urinating in public is a crime, but it isn't prosecuted under the indecent exposure statute outlined above, even though it involves the offender exposing his or her genitals in public. Public urination is prosecuted under Oklahoma Code section 21-22 and is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500 and/or a maximum jail sentence of one year.
Breastfeeding in Public
In almost every state, including Oklahoma, women can expose their breasts while breastfeeding in public without violating that state's indecent exposure laws. Because breastfeeding a baby is a basic act of nurturing that every child has a right to in Oklahoma, breastfeeding in public doesn't constitute indecent exposure. Oklahoma Session Laws section 332.
Crimes Related to Indecent Exposure
- Indecent Exhibitions: In Oklahoma, it is illegal to procure, counsel, or assist any person to expose themselves to the public in order to sexually stimulate the viewer.
- Obscene or Indecent Writings, Pictures, etc.: It is also illegal to create prints, photographs, designs, drawings, engravings, paintings, or otherwise preparing, publishing, selling, distributing, keeping for sale, or knowingly downloading any obscene material or child pornography.
Sex Offenders Registration Act
Because indecent exposure is a sex crime, offenders convicted of indecent exposure may have to register as sex offenders. Any person living, working, or attending school in Oklahoma who has been convicted of indecent exposure (after November 1, 1989) may be required to register with the Oklahoma sex offender registry. Depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime, an offender can be required to remain on the registry for 15 years to life. For more information visit The Oklahoma Sex Offender Registry's website.
State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Oklahoma's indecent exposure laws contact a local criminal defense attorney.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.