Oklahoma Marriage Age Requirements Laws
Most, but not all states have age requirements for getting married, including parental consent and exceptions for young women who are pregnant or have a child with the other partner. These laws are intended to protect minors from coercion and to ensure they are mature enough before making such a commitment. While anyone above the age of majority (18) may make this and other important decisions on their own, states also have legal age laws that specifically apply to minors.
Marriage Age Requirements in Oklahoma at a Glance
In Oklahoma, you must be 18 before applying for a marriage license without parental approval, and as young as 16 with written parental consent. If a minor under 16 is pregnant or has a child, he or she may get married through a court order and parental consent (or consent by legal guardian).
See FindLaw's Getting Married section for related articles and resources.
|Code Section||Tit. 43 §3|
|Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent||Male: 16; Female: 16|
|Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent||Male: 18; Female: 18|
|Comments||Minors under 16 may obtain license in case of pregnancy or birth of child with parental consent and court authorization.|
Note: State laws are always subject to change, most often through the passage of new laws or rulings by higher courts. Make sure you contact an Oklahoma family law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
How to Get Married in Oklahoma
If you are over 18 or otherwise meet the requirements for getting married in Oklahoma, the next step is to apply for a marriage license. You will have to bring a birth certificate along with written parental consent if you are older than 16 but younger than 18, and will need proof of identification and age (drivers license, passport, birth certificate) if you are 18 or older. There is a $50.00 license fee, or $5.00 if you and your partner have completed premarital counseling. There is a 72 waiting period for those under 18. See the Marriage Licenses section of Tulsa County's Website to learn more.
Research the Law
- Oklahoma Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Oklahoma Marriage Age Requirement Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.