Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Search for legal issues
For help near (city, ZIP code or county)
Please enter a legal issue and/or a location

Oklahoma Prostitution and Solicitation Laws

In Oklahoma, both prostitution and the solicitation of prostitution are illegal. Under these laws, it's generally a crime to either sell or purchase sexual favors in exchange for money. In other words, it is a crime to both act as a prostitute and to hire a prostitute. The following chart highlights Oklahoma's main prostitution and solicitation laws.

Code Section

Oklahoma criminal code section 21-1029 & 21-1030: Engaging in, Soliciting, or Procuring Prostitution

What's Prohibited?

  • Engaging in "prostitution"
  • Soliciting, inducing, or enticing another to commit an act of prostitution with himself or herself
  • Residing or remaining in any building or vehicle with the intent to commit an act of prostitution, or
  • Aiding, abetting, or participating in any of the prohibited acts listed above

Definition of "Prostitution" in Oklahoma

Giving or receiving (or making an appointment for) sexual intercourse, fellatio, cunnilingus, masturbation, or anal intercourse with any person who isn't his or her spouse, in exchange for money (or something else of value).


Misdemeanor offense. Punishable by imprisonment for between 30 days and one year and/or by the following fines:

  • First conviction: up to $2,500
  • Second conviction: up to $5,000
  • Third or subsequent conviction: up to $7,500

The court may also require the offender to serve between 40 and 80 hours of community service.

Any person who engages in prostitution while knowing that they are infected with HIV is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for up to five years.

Child Prostitution

The crime of child prostitution occurs when an act of prostitution is engaged in with a person who is less than 16 years old. Child prostitution in Oklahoma is a felony and is punishable by imprisonment for up to ten years and a by fine of:

  • First offense: up to $5,000
  • Second offense: up to $10,000
  • Third or subsequent offense: up to $15,000

For every act of child prostitution that is prosecuted in Oklahoma there is a presumption that the actor was coerced into committing the offense by another person in violation of Oklahoma's human trafficking law.

Human Trafficking

Oklahoma's criminal code defines human trafficking as modern-day slavery that includes, but isn't limited to, extreme exploitation and the denial of freedom or liberty of a person for the purpose of benefiting from that individual's sex act or labor. It is illegal in Oklahoma to knowingly engage in human trafficking, even if the victim consented to the activity.

If you or someone you know has been a victim of human trafficking contact an organization dedicated to promoting victim rights, such as the National Human Trafficking Resource Center.

Houses of Prostitution

Under Oklahoma's prostitution laws, it is also illegal to operate a house of prostitution or any other facility that is intended to be a place of unlawful sexual intercourse. Operating a prostitution house is a misdemeanor offense and is punishable by a fine of at least $2,000 for each offense.

Additional Resources

State laws change frequently. For case specific information regarding Oklahoma's prostitution and solicitation laws contact a local sex crime attorney or criminal defense lawyer.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Find a Lawyer

More Options