Oregon Car Accident Report Basics

If you've been in a car accident while driving in the Beaver State, you may wonder whether you need to report it. Under Oregon law, you must file an accident report with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 72 hours of an accident if it results in injury, death, or property damage over $1,500 (including vehicle damage, even if your vehicle was the only one involved in the crash), or if any vehicle is towed from the scene of the accident. If you do not file an accident report under these conditions, then your driver's license will become suspended.

Oregon Car Accident Report Overview

The below provided table provides instructions on how to file a car crash report in Oregon and other legal information about Oregon car accident reporting.

State Statutes

Oregon Revised Statutes, Oregon Vehicle Code ยง 811.720

When to Report:

You must file an accident report to the Oregon DMV if the accident results in any of the following:

  • Death
  • Injury
  • Property damage exceeding $1,500 (including vehicle damage, even if your vehicle is the only one involved in the crash)
  • Any vehicle is towed from the scene of the accident

How to File a Car Crash Report in Oregon:

If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, you must file an accident report or the Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report with the Oregon DMV within 72 hours of the accident. The report must contain at the very least:

  • Name, address, and telephone number of all drivers and passengers involved in the accident
  • Driver's license numbers of any drivers involved
  • Make, model, year, and color of all vehicles involved
  • License plate numbers and registration information for all vehicles involved, as well as the state where the vehicle is registered
  • Estimated monetary damages for any vehicle damage, including a diagram showing where the vehicle was damaged
  • Estimated monetary damages to non-vehicle property
  • Insurance information including contact information for the insurance company that each driver or passenger has
  • Location, time and date of the accident
  • Any weather, road, light, or traffic conditions during the accident
  • If a pedestrian or bicyclist was involved in the accident, there name, sex, age, injury, direction they were going and action they took

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Exceptions to Mandatory Accident Reporting

If you were involved in an accident where the damages (to vehicles and/or non-vehicle property) were less than $1,500, you are allowed to report to the Oregon DMV if the other party doesn't have insurance, but you are not required to do so. However, in the accident report, be sure to specify that the accident does not meet mandatory reporting criteria.

Police Reports Do Not Count

It is also important to note that in Oregon, a police report does not count as filing an accident report with the Oregon DMV. If you are involved in an accident that meets the mandatory reporting criteria, you must also still file an accident report with DMV even though a police report has already been filed by the police for the accident.

Research the Law

Get a Free Review of Your Oregon Car Accident Claim

Feel free to reach out to a local Oregon attorney for a free case review in order to address any questions you may still have on how to file a car crash report in Oregon.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.