Oregon Child Support Guidelines

Oregon has a number of laws, rules, and guidelines about child support. The Oregon child support guidelines lay out a method for calculating how much each parent needs to contribute for the support of their child. In Oregon a judge can either order one or both parents to pay child support. A judge uses these guidelines to determine how much needs to be paid and will then issue a child support order.

Determining Child Support

The Oregon court will make a child support order based on an income-share formula in the guidelines. The court considers the amount of income received by the parents and the amount of time each parent spends with the child. The court also takes other expenses into account such as childcare, medical insurance, and other children the parents are supporting. The order will also cover medical coverage or medical costs.

To learn more about how child support is calculated in the state, try out the state'sonline child support calculator. This calculator serves as a guide and shouldn't be used to obtain an exact measurement of the support obligation.

For the wellbeing of the child, it's preferable that both parents consent to the calculation of support so that an order can be made. If either one of the parents does not consent, then an administrative hearing in front of an administrative judge is held to determine the level of support.

When Does Child Support End?

A child support order or health care coverage order continues until the child is 18 years old. However, where a child is between the ages of 18 and 21, they may still continue to qualify for support (child support or health care) if they are attending school. However, if the child is married, emancipated or an active member of the military on active duty, then they cannot quality as a child attending school.

Code Section

Oregon child support guidelines  

Who is Responsible?

Both Parents

How Support is Calculated?

Oregon Guidelines Child Support Calculator

Factors

"Income-Share" and "Time-Share" (see above for explanation)

What Monthly Expenses Can the Judge Order?

Monetary support (food, clothing, & shelter), health insurance, and back payments and interest. Also might include child care, unpaid medical bills, visitation travel costs, and extracurricular activities.

Age of Child

A child support order or health care coverage order continues until the child is 18 years old. However, where a child is between the ages of 18 and 21, they may still continue to qualify for support (child support or health care) if they are attending school. However, if the child is married, emancipated, or an active member of the military on active duty, then they cannot qualify as a child attending school.ORS 107.108 and OAR 137-055-5110

Additional Resources

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.