Some firearms regulations come from the federal government, but passing and enforcing gun control laws is primarily the job of the states. Laws that regulate the purchase and use of guns vary quite a bit from state to state, often reflecting regional traditions and attitudes toward guns. Some states require a permit for buying a gun, including a waiting period for a background check, while others have very few restrictions.
Gun Control Laws in Oregon: Overview
Oregon has relatively loose regulations on guns, allowing the open carry of guns and issuing permits for concealed carry. Also, those with open carry licenses are exempt from any local ordinances or restrictions on guns (state law preempts). Background checks are conducted electronically at the point of sale, so there is no waiting period for purchasing a firearm in Oregon.
Additional details of Oregon's gun control laws are listed below.
|Code Section||Oregon Revised Statutes section 166.250, et seq.|
|Illegal Arms||Machine gun; short-barreled rifle/shotgun; silencer; armor piercing ammunition|
|Permit Requirements||You must apply for a permit in order to carry a concealed handgun
|Waiting Period?||No (instant criminal background check conducted at point of sale)|
|Who May Not Own||1. Under 18 yrs., except for hunting or with parent's consent; 2. Convicted felon or juvenile felony offender (within 4 yrs.); 3. Committed to Mental Health and Developmental Disability Services Division or mentally ill; 4. Subj. to order prohibiting purchase or possession of firearms; 5. Inmates of institutions: 6. Persons convicted of stalking, domestic violence or with restraining orders.|
|Law Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds||
Any person who discharges or attempts to discharge a firearm on school grounds may be guilty of a felony. (ORS section 166.370)
Note: State laws are always subject to change, usually through new legislation or appellate court decisions, and federal law often preempts state law. You should contact an Oregon criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
How to Get an Oregon Concealed Carry Permit
Oregon issues concealed carry permits that may be renewed at the end of four years, costing $50 (plus $15 for the Oregon State Police background check). To apply, go to your local Sheriff's department with two current pieces of identification (one bearing a photo of the applicant) and a completed application (done at Sheriff's office).
Research the Law
Oregon Gun Control Laws: Related Resources
Contact a qualified attorney.