Overview of Pennsylvania Theft/Larceny Laws
It is a crime in Pennsylvania to commit theft of another person's property. Note that Pennsylvania uses the term theft instead of larceny to describe any taking of another's property. To prove that the defendant has committed theft, the prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant unlawfully took, transferred or exercised control over another person's property with the intent to deprive the owner of it. A person may also be found guilty of theft if they accept or receive stolen property that they know has been stolen and they do not have the intent to return it to its rightful owner.
More information about Pennsylvania's theft and larceny laws can be found in the following table.
|Statute||Pennsylvania Statutes Title 18 § 3921|
|Statutory Definition of Theft||
A person is guilty of theft if he intentionally obtains or withholds property of another by deception. A person deceives if he intentionally:
|Types of Property
(a) Movable property. A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully takes, or exercises unlawful control over, movable property of another with intent to deprive him thereof.
(b) Immovable property. A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully transfers, or exercises unlawful control over, immovable property of another or any interest therein with intent to benefit himself or another not entitled thereto.
Pennsylvania defines various takings of property as theft. This includes:
Defenses to Theft/Larceny Charges
Penalties and Sentences
The penalty for theft in Pennsylvania varies depending on the amount or value of the property stolen. If the value is less than $50, the offense will be a summary offense. This is a less serious charge than a felony or misdemeanor. It is not actually a criminal conviction. However, it will show up on criminal record history checks and for that reason, should be taken very seriously. A summary offense may receive a sentence of up to ninety days in jail and/or a fine of anywhere between $25 and $1,500 depending on the degree or severity of the summary offense.
If the amount stolen is over $2,000, or the property stolen is a vehicle, vessel or airplane of any kind the charge is a second degree felony. If the stolen property is a firearm, it is a first degree felony. If the amount involved was $50 to less than $200, the charge is a third degree misdemeanor. Overall, there is no hard lined rule since the charge will depend on the circumstances of each case and the type of property stolen and its overall value. Penalties can range between 90 days in jail for the smaller offenses up to seven years in prison for major theft.
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- please contact an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Pennsylvania Theft/Larceny Laws: Related Resources
Charged With Theft in Pennsylvania? Get Expert Legal Help Today
Theft can be as simple as shoplifting and as complex as a diamond heist. In either scenario, the prosecution must prove beyond the shadow of a doubt that the defendant took the property knowing he or she had no rightful claim to that property. A skilled attorney will be able to effectively challenge the prosecution's claims. Learn more about your theft case by contacting a Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney.
Contact a qualified attorney.