South Dakota Gun Control Laws
Gun control has become an ever-increasingly discussed and debated topic throughout the country. While the federal government has limited control over the ownership and use of firearms, state gun control laws tend to vary quite a bit amongst the individual states.
South Dakota Gun Laws
South Dakota has some of the least restrictive gun laws in the nation. South Dakota allows residents of this state and any other person, not otherwise precluded by any applicable laws, to purchase, sell, trade, convey, deliver or transport rifles, shotguns, ammunition, reloading components, or firearms accessories in South Dakota and in states contiguous to South Dakota.
The buyer must complete an application to purchase a handgun from a federally licensed firearms dealer (FFL) if he does not possess a valid carrying permit.
Concealed Weapons Permit
An individual who wishes to carry a concealed pistol on or about his person or in a vehicle must obtain a Permit to Carry a Concealed Pistol. Carrying a concealed pistol without a permit is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by one (1) year imprisonment or one thousand dollar fine or both
Permit to Carry a Visible Gun
A person does not need a permit to own a pistol, keep it in his pr her home, business, or property, or visibly carry it.
In 2009, South Dakota repealed the state’s 48-hour waiting period for handgun purchases. Therefore, there is no waiting period to purchase a gun in South Dakota.
The main provisions of South Dakota gun control laws are listed in the table below. See Details on State Gun Control Laws to learn more.
|Code Section||22-1-2; 22-14-6, 16; 23-7-9, 46|
|Illegal Arms||Controlled weapon-silencer; machine gun; short shotgun or rifle; altered manufacturer's serial number.|
|Waiting Period||South Dakota imposes no waiting period between the time of purchase and the actual physical transfer of a firearm. South Dakota imposes no waiting period between the time of purchase and the actual physical transfer of a firearm.|
|Laws prohibiting firearms on or near school grounds||Misdemeanor 13-32-7|
|Who May Not Own||
|Minimum age to Purchase a firearm||18 years old|
Note: South Dakota law for handguns and other guns vary considerably, so what may be legal for a rifle may not be for a handgun and vice versa. In light of all these qualifications, you should contact a South Dakota criminal defense attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching. laws.
Research the Law:
- South Dakota Code
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
South Dakota Capital Punishment Laws: Related Resources
- Criminal Law Center
- Defending Yourself Against a Criminal Charge
- Stand Your Ground Laws
- Find a Criminal Law Attorney
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.