Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Hunting Laws by State

License Requirements to Hunt Game Animals

Each state has unique hunting regulations for big game, small game, furbearer, birds and waterfowl, and some exotic animals. Each state requires a license to pursue or take game and licensing fees based on residency and non-residency. Before hunting in your state or a state you are visiting for the purpose of hunting, understand the legal regulations and requirements to lawfully take game in that state.

Special Licenses, Permits, Tags, and Stamps

Every state that allows residents and non-residents to hunt game animals also require additional licenses, permits, tags, and stamps for specific animals. If you wish to hunt in a specific state, know what additional regulations apply to hunting game animals such as deer, bear, elk, and moose. Each state that allows the taking of duck also implements the requirement of obtaining a federal duck stamp to legally hunt duck.

Hunting Laws by State: At a Glance

State Regulations and Laws Permits Required License Fees Animals Legal to Hunt Residency Requirements Deer Hunting Season Dates
Alabama

Alabama Code Title 9. Conservation and Natural Resources section 9-11-44

  • Residents over the age of 16 and under the age of 65 are required to apply for an all-game or a small game hunting license within their county.
  • A small game hunting license excludes the hunting of deer and turkey in Alabama.
  • Residents that are under the age of 16 or over the age of 65 are exempt from the license requirements for hunting in Alabama.
  • Residents that are hunting exclusively on land they own are exempt from the license requirements for hunting in Alabama.
  • Residents on active military duty who are in Alabama on leave do not have to hold a hunting license.
  • Non-Residents that are over the age of 16 are required to apply for an all-game or a small game hunting license with the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $28.20 to obtain an all-game license.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $18.70 to obtain a small game annual hunting license.
  • Non-residents All game fees :
    • Annual hunting license fee is $325.90
    • A 10-day trip license fee is $201.25
    • A 3-day trip hunting license fee is $142.00
  • A non-resident college student hunting license fee is $28.20.
  • A non-resident college student hunting license fee is $18.70.
  • Non-resident small game fees:
    • Annual hunting license fee is $106.40
    • A 10-day trip license fee is $64.90
    • A 3-day trip license fee is $47.05
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Quail
  • Dove
  • Hogs
  • Cran
  • Waterfowl
  • Alligators, and
  • Small game

To fulfill the residency requirement, you need to reside in Alabama continuously for a period of not less than 90 days.

Alabama deer hunting season is from September through August.

Alaska

Alaska Statutes Title 16. Fish and Game section 16.05.251. Regulations of the Board of Fisheries

  • Residents that are 18 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Alaska.
  • Residents under the age of 18 are not required to obtain a hunting license or state waterfowl stamps.
  • Residents under the age of 10 must be supervised by a licensed hunter and their bag limit will go towards their supervising hunter's number.
  • Residents age 10-17 may have their own bag limit and do not require a licensed supervised hunter.
  • Residents that are 60 years of age or older and disabled veterans may obtain a hunting license free of charge.
  • Residents on active military duty may obtain an annual hunting license free of charge.
  • Non-residents that are 10 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Alaska. Non-residents that are under the age of 10 are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license, must be supervised by a licensed hunter, and their bag limit will go towards their supervising hunter's number.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $45.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $25.
  • A resident must obtain an annual state waterfowl stamp for a fee of $10.
  • Resident big game tag fees*: brown or grizzly bear $25 each, musk oxen or bull $500.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $160.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting and trapping license fee of $405.
  • A non-resident must pay a small game annual hunting license fee of $60.
  • A non-resident must obtain an annual state waterfowl stamp for fee of $10.
  • Non-resident military annual hunting license fee of $45.
  • Non-resident foreign/alien annual hunting license fee of $630.
  • A non-resident must obtain big game tag fees to hunt brown or grizzly bear, black bear, bison, caribou, deer, elk, goat, moose, sheep, wolf, wolverine, musk oxen bull/cow.
  • A non-resident foreign/alien must pay an annual hunting license fee of $630.
  • A non-resident foreign/alien must obtain an annual state waterfowl stamp for a fee of $10.
  • A non-resident foreign/alien must obtain big game tag fees to hunt brown or grizzly bear, black bear, bison, caribou, deer, elk, goat, moose, sheep, wolf, wolverine, musk oxen bull/cow.
  • Most big game are by drawing permit hunt only and vary in requirements and restrictions year to year by the Alaska Department of Fish and Game.
  • Individuals who have low income may apply for a reduced fee hunting license.
  • Waterfowl
  • Grouse
  • Hare
  • Crow
  • Pheasant
  • Quail
  • Partridge
  • Wild turkey
  • Snowy owl
  • Ptarmigan,
  • Brown bear
  • Grizzly bear
  • Black bear
  • Bison
  • Caribou
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Goat
  • Moose
  • Sheep
  • Wolf
  • Wolverine
  • musk oxen.
  • Residency requires an individual to be physically present in Alaska with the intent to remain in Alaska indefinitely and to make a home in the state
  • The individual should maintain their domicile in the state for the 12 months immediately preceding their license application, and not obtain benefits under a claim of residency in another state, territory, or country.
  • A member of the military is a resident of Alaska for purposes of hunting licensing if that individual has been stationed in Alaska for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding their license application.

Alaska deer hunting season is from August through December with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

Arizona

Arizona Revised Statutes Title 17. Game and Fish section 17-301. Times when wildlife may be taken;  exceptions;  methods of taking

  • Residents that are 10 years of age or older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Arizona. Residents under the age of 10 must be supervised by a licensed hunter.
  • An individual or their spouse who is on active military duty stationed in Arizona may obtain a resident hunting license.
  • Non-residents that are 10 years of age or older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Arizona. Residents under the age of 10 must be supervised by a licensed hunter.
  • A resident must pay a general hunting license fee of $37.
  • A resident must pay a migratory bird stamp fee of $5.
  • A non-resident must pay a general hunting license (only available as a combination with fishing) fee of $160.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional hunting permit-tags through application and drawing procedures for the various animals in certain regions to prevent overharvest.
  • Black bear
  • bisonpronghorn
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Elk
  • Javelina
  • Mountain lion
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Waterfowl
  • Bobcat
  • Coyote
  • Fox
  • Skunk
  • Badger
  • Beaver
  • Muskrat
  • Otter
  • Raccoon
  • Ringtail
  • Weasel
  • Reptiles
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to maintain their domicile in the state for the 6 months immediately preceding their license application and the individual does not claim residency in another state or jurisdiction.

Arizona deer hunting season is from October through December with season restrictions on type of deer, method of hunting, and region.

Arkansas

Arkansas Code Title 15. Natural Resources and Economic Development section 15-42-104. Resident hunting and fishing licenses

  • Residents that are 16 years of age or older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Arkansas. Hunting licenses can be obtained for small game, big-game, furbearer, and all game.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain an annual, 14-day, or 3-day hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Arkansas.
  • Non-residents that are 65 years of age or older, whose home state does not require non-resident hunting licenses for individuals of that age group are not required to obtain a hunting license in Arkansas.
  • A resident must pay an annual all-game hunting license fee of $25.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $10.50.
  • A resident must pay a waterfowl stamp fee of $7.
  • A resident must pay a lifetime combination hunting license and fishing permit fee of $1,000.
  • A resident 65 years of age or older must pay a lifetime hunting license fee of $25, lifetime hunting and fishing combination license fee of $35.50, lifetime waterfowl permit fee of $7.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual all-game hunting license fee of $350 or
    • 5-day all-game hunting license fee of $180
    • 3-day all-game hunting license fee of $125
    • 1-day all-game hunting license fee of $55.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $110 or
    • 5-day small game hunting license fee of $70.
  • A non-resident must pay a trapper's permit fee of $125.
  • A non-resident must pay a waterfowl stamp fee of $35 or
    • 5-day waterfowl stamp fee of $30.50.
  • Alligator
  • Bear
  • Elk
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Furbearers
  • Migratory birds
  • Quail
  • Rabbit
  • Squirrel
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Arkansas for at least 60 days and proof of residency can be shown by an Arkansas driver's license or a state I.D. card.

Arkansas deer hunting season is from late September through early January with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

California

California Code, Fish and Game Code - FGC section 3031

  • Residents that are 16 years of age or older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of California.
  • Residents that are under the age of 16 are required to apply for and obtain a junior hunting license to legally hunt in the state of California.
  • Non-residents that are 16 years of age or older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Arkansas.
  • Non-residents that are under the age of 16 are required to apply for and obtain a junior hunting license to legally hunt in the state of California.
  • Resident and non-resident recovering or disabled veterans may be eligible for a reduced fee hunting license.
  • Residents and non-residents may purchase certain big game tags and may apply for big game tag drawings for certain big game.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $51.02.
  • A resident must pay an annual junior hunting license fee of $13.53.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $178.20 or
    • 2-day hunting license fee of $51.02
    • 1-day hunting fee of $24.33.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual junior hunting license fee of $13.53.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional big game tags for hunting bear and wild pig.
  • Residents and non-residents may apply for big game tag drawings for deer, pronghorn antelope, elk, and bighorn sheep.
  • Residents and non-residents must acquire validation or stamps for hunting birds and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Pronghorn antelope
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Elk
  • Bear
  • Wild pig
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game.

Residency requires an individual to reside in California continuously for a period of not less than 6 months immediately proceeding their application for a hunting license.

California deer hunting season is from August through September with season restrictions by the zone.

Colorado

Colorado Revised Statutes Title 33. Parks and Wildlife section 33-4-102. Types of licenses and fees--rules

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in Colorado.
  • Active duty members of the military who are stationed in Colorado and their immediate family members may qualify for a resident Colorado hunting license.
  • Resident veterans who have a 60% service-related disability may be eligible for a lifetime hunting license free of charge.
  • Colorado has a wounded warrior safe harbor program for residents who may acquire a limited number of permits for hunting deer, elk, and pronghorn.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in Colorado.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $30.87 or
    • 1-day small game license fee of $14.23
    • A senior annual small game hunting license fee of $22.18
    • A youth annual small game hunting license fee of $1.29.
  • A resident must pay an annual furbearer hunting license fee of $30.87.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game license fee of $84.96 or
    • A 1-day small game license fee of $17.35
    • A youth annual hunting license fee of $1.29.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual furbearer license fee of $84.96.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and stamps to hunt all big game, turkey, sandhill crane, pigeon, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Elk
  • Pronghorn
  • Mountain lion
  • Turkey
  • Prairie chicken,
  • Furbearers
  • Small game.

Residency requires an individual to reside within the state of Colorado for at least 6 consecutive months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Colorado deer hunting season is from September through December with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Connecticut Connecticut General Statutes Title 26. Fisheries and Game sections 26-27. Licenses required for hunting, trapping and fishing. Exceptions
  • Residents that are over the age of 16 are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in Connecticut. Residents 12–15 years of age are required to apply for and obtain a junior hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Connecticut.
  • Residents who are 65 years of age or older may apply for and obtain a hunting and trapping license free of charge.
  • Individuals who have permanently lost the use of a limb may obtain a hunting and trapping license free of charge.
  • Active and full-time members of the armed forces may apply for and obtain a resident hunting license.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Connecticut.
  • A resident must pay a firearms hunting license fee of $19 or
    • A 16 and 17 year old license $10 a junior hunting license fee of $11.
  • Resident archery deer and small game hunting license fee of $41, 16 and 17 year old license fee of $21
  • A junior hunting license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay a firearms hunting license fee of $91.
  • A non-resident must pay an archery deer and small game hunting license fee of $135 or
    • A junior hunting license fee of $19.
  • A non-resident must pay a 3-day bird hunting license fee of $35.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional Deer hunting permits administered by lottery.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional stamps for hunting bird.
  • Deer
  • Red fox
  • Gray fox
  • Coyote
  • Turkey
  • Pheasant
  • Grouse
  • Quail
  • Partridge
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to hold a valid resident license, I.D. card, or other proof of Connecticut residency.

Connecticut archery deer hunting season is all year on private land dependent on zone, and from mid-September through December on state land in bowhunting designated areas.

Delaware

Delaware Code Title 7. Conservation section 501. Licenses

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Delaware.
  • Residents and their immediate family who own land that is 20 or more acres may hunt on their own land without a hunting license.
  • Residents 65 years of age or older are exempt from hunting license requirements.
  • Members of the armed forces who are patients of a military hospital or who were honorably discharged with a service-related disability may apply for exemption from hunting requirements. If a service member has served for at least 90 days in the armed forces, they may receive a hunting license free of charge for the 12 months immediately following their service.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a general hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Delaware.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $39.50 or
    • A junior hunting license (ages 13–15) fee of $5.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $199.50 or
    • A junior hunting license (ages 13–15) fee of $50
    • 3-day small game hunting license fee of $75.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $75.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional permits, tags, and for hunting deer and waterfowl
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Ducks
  • Goose
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to present reasonable proof that they are a bona fide resident of Delaware.

Delaware deer hunting season is from September through January with restrictions on method of hunting.

D.C.

District of Columbia Code Division I. Government of District. section 8-2221.28. Council's authority with respect to wild animals, fishing licenses, and migratory birds;  exception;  “wild animals" defined.

Hunting animals is prohibited in the District of Columbia.

       
Florida

Florida Statutes Title XXVIII. Natural Resources; Conservation, Reclamation, and Use section 379.354. Recreational licenses, permits, and authorization numbers;  fees established

 

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Florida.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Florida.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license (not including trapping) fee of $17, 5-year hunting fee of $79 or
    • A youth hunting license fee of $17.
  • An additional permit is required for hunting wildlife on a wildlife management area. Annual hunting fees for an annual management area permit are $26.50, a 5-year license for residents only is $126.50.
  • An additional archery season permit is required during archery season. Annual archery hunting fee of $5, a 5-year resident only archery permit fee of $25.
  • An additional crossbow season permit is required during crossbow season. Annual crossbow hunting fee of $5, a 5-year resident only crossbow fee of $25.
  • An additional Muzzleloading gun season permit is required during muzzleloading gun season. Annual Muzzleloading gun hunting fee of $5, a 5-year resident only muzzleloading gun season fee of $25.
  • An additional deer hunting permit is required during deer season. Annual deer hunting fee of $5, a 5-year resident only deer hunting fee of $25.
  • An additional turkey hunting permit is required during turkey season. Annual turkey resident hunting fee of $10, a 5-year resident turkey permit fee of $50, and an annual non-resident turkey permit fee of $125.
  • An additional migratory bird permit is required to hunt migratory birds in Florida without cost.
  • An additional waterfowl permit is required to hunt waterfowl in Florida. Annual waterfowl permit fee of $5, 5-year resident only permit fee of $25.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license (not including trapping) fee of $151.50, 10-day hunting fee of $46.50.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain limited entry permits and quota permits by application for certain limited hunt game in Florida.
  • Alligator
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Wild hog
  • Bobcat
  • Otter
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to hold a valid Florida driver's license or I.D. card.

Florida deer hunting season is from August through February with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

Georgia

Georgia Code Title 27. Game and Fish section 27-2-2

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Georgia.
  • Resident military veterans who have served for at least 90 days may apply and obtain an annual hunting license in Georgia, one time only, free of charge.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Georgia.
  • Additional licenses, permits or stamps are required to hunt big game, alligator, or migratory birds within the state of Georgia.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $15 or
    • 1-day license fee of $5, and for each additional day hunting license fee of $1.
  • Residents over the age of 64 must pay an annual license fee of $4.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $100 or
    • 1-day license fee of $20, and for each additional day hunting license fee of $6.
  • Resident and non-resident are required to obtain an additional license for big game, an additional permit for hunting alligator, and migratory bird stamps in addition to their annual hunting or short term hunting license.
  • Alligator
  • Bear
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Fox
  • Bobcat
  • Dove
  • Duck
  • Geese
  • Woodcock
  • Snipe
  • Coots
  • Rails
  • Gallinules
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to maintain their domicile in the state for the 3 months immediately preceding their license application.

Georgia deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Hawaii

Hawaii Revised Statutes Division 1. Government section 183D-22. Application and issuance of licenses; fees

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Hawaii.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Hawaii.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $20
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $105
  • Resident and non-resident seniors must pay an annual hunting license reduced fee of $10.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain an additional game bird stamp for a fee of $10.
  • Axis deer
  • Black-tail deer
  • Feral pig
  • Mouflon sheep
  • Feral sheep
  • Mouflon-feral hybrid sheep
  • Feral goat

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Hawaii for at least 1 year immediately preceding their license application.

Hawaii deer hunting season is from mid-May through mid-October only permitted in certain regions and by permit only.

Idaho

Idaho Statutes Title 36. Fish and Game section 36-401. Hunting, trapping, fishing--License requirement--Exceptions

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Idaho.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Hawaii.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $15.75 or
    • Adult 3-year hunting license fee of $34.75
    • A lifetime hunting license fee of $276.75.
    • Junior ( ages 10–17) annual hunting license fee of $8.25
    • Junior 3-year hunting license fee of $18.25.
    • A resident senior annual hunting and fishing (combination only) license fee of $13.75
    • Senior 3-year hunting and fishing (combination only) license fee of $33.50
    • Senior lifetime hunting license fee of $221.75.
  • A resident member of the military must pay an annual hunting license fee of $20.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $29.75.
  • A resident junior must pay an annual trapping license fee of $8.25.
  • Residents must acquire tags, permits, or controlled hunt fees for various animals.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $185 or
  • A 3-year hunting license fee of $551.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $141.75 or
    • 3-day small game hunting license fee of $71.75.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual junior (ages 10–17) hunting license fee of $91.75 or
    • A 3-year hunting license fee of $271.75.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $331.75.
  • A non-residents must acquire tags, permits, or controlled hunt fees for various animals.
  • A non-resident disabled veteran may apply for and obtain a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Black bear
  • Grizzly bear
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Deer
  • Moose
  • Elk
  • Pronghorn antelope
  • Mountain lion
  • Sandhill crane
  • Mountain lion
  • Turkey
  • Swan
  • Wolf
  • Furbearers
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to maintain their domicile in the state for the 6 months immediately preceding their license application.
  • Residency can be proven by state issues I.D card, two documents that show name and address, or the previous year's hunting license issued by Idaho.

Idaho deer hunting season is from August through December with season restrictions on method of hunting and region.

Illinois

Illinois Statutes Chapter 520. Wildlife section.1.License and stamps required

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Illinois.
  • Residents 18 years of age and older must apply for and obtain a Migratory Waterfowl Stamp before hunting waterfowl in the state of Illinois.
  • Residents and their families residing on land they own may hunt on their land without a hunting license.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Illinois.
  • Residents 18 years of age and older must apply for and obtain a Migratory Waterfowl Stamp before hunting waterfowl in the state of Illinois.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $12.50 or
    • A lifetime hunting license fee of $360
    • A youth hunting license fee of $7
    • A senior hunting license fee of $6.50
    • A veteran hunting license fee of $6.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $57.75 or
    • 5-day hunting license fee of $35.75.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to apply for and obtain permits for hunting deer, turkey, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Waterfowl
  • Dove
  • Duck
  • Goose
  • Pheasant
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have maintained their residence in the state 30 days immediately preceding their license application and the individual does not claim residency in another state or jurisdiction.

Illinois deer hunting season is from October through January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Indiana

Indiana Code Title 14. Natural and Cultural Resources section 14-22-11-1

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Indiana.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Indiana.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $17.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $17.
  • A resident must pay an annual youth hunting and trapping consolidated license fee of $7.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $80 or
    • A youth annual hunting license fee of $17
    • 5-day hunting license fee of $31.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $140 or
    • A youth annual trapping license fee of $17.
  • Residents and non-residents must also apply for and obtain additional permits and stamps for hunting deer, turkey, waterfowl, and game birds.
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Furbearers (excluding badgers and bobcats)
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have maintained their residence in the state 60 days immediately preceding their license application and the individual does not claim residency in another state or jurisdiction.

Indiana deer hunting season is from mid-September through December with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Iowa

Iowa Code 483A.1 Licenses — fees — rules

  • Residents that are 16 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Iowa.
  • Residents over the age of 65, veterans, and disabled people may be eligible for a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Iowa.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $22, additional habitat fee of $15 or
    • 3-year hunting and habitat fee of $101.
  • A resident must pay an annual migratory game bird fee of $11.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual furharvest license fee of $26.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to apply for and obtain licenses and permits for hunting deer and wild turkey.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $131 or
    • 5-day hunting license fee of $77, additional habitat fee of $15.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual migratory game bird fee of $11.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual furharvest license fee of $247.
  • A non-resident junior (age 16–18) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $32.
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Quail
  • Grouse
  • Bobcat
  • Partridge
  • Coyote
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Iowa for at least 90 days and proof of residency can be shown by an Iowa driver's license or a state I.D. card.

Iowa deer hunting season is from mid-September through December with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

Kansas

Kansas Statutes Chapter 32. Wildlife, Parks and Recreation section 32-919. Hunting licenses

  • Residents over the age of 16 and under the age of 75 are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Kansas.
  • Residents and their families may hunt on their land without a hunting license.
  • Residents who are members of the National Guard or disabled veterans may be able to apply for and obtain a hunting license free of charge.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Kansas.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $27.50 or
    • 5-year hunting license fee of $102.50
    • A lifetime hunting license fee of $502.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $97.50
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $42.50.
  • Deer
  • Antelope
  • Elk
  • Duck
  • Goose
  • Rail
  • Crane
  • Snipe
  • Teal
  • Quail
  • Prairie chicken
  • Pheasant
  • Turkey
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Kansas for at least 60 days and proof of residency can be shown by a Kansas driver's license or proof of payment of income taxes in the state of Kansas.

Kansas deer hunting season is from September through January with season restrictions on method of hunting and region.

Kentucky

Kentucky Revised Statutes Title XII. Conservation and State Development section 150.175. Kinds of licenses and tags;  multiyear licenses or permits

  • Residents over the age of 12 and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Kentucky.
  • Residents who are active duty military members are exempt from hunting license requirements while on leave.
  • Resident military veterans may be eligible for a reduced fee hunting license.
  • Non-residents over the age of 12 and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Kentucky.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $27 or
    • 1-day hunting license fee of $7
    • A youth (age 12–15) hunting license fee of $6.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $20 or
    • An annual landowner or tenant trapping license fee of $10
    • An annual youth (age 12–15) trapping license fee of $5.
  • A resident must pay an annual deer permit fee of $35 or
  • A youth (ages 12–15) deer permit fee of $10, and two additional deer fee of $15.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $150 or
    • 1-day hunting license fee of $25
    • A youth (ages 12–15) hunting license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $130.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual deer permit $185 or
    • A youth (ages 12–15) deer permit fee of $15 and two additional deer fee of $15.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to acquire a permit for some big game such as elk, bear, and birds. A permit to hunt elk, pheasant, and sandhill crane in the state of Kentucky is through a drawing process.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Bear
  • Turkey
  • Duck
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Crane
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Kentucky for at least 30 days prior to applying for a hunting license.

Kentucky deer hunting season is from September through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Louisiana

Louisiana Revised Statutes Tit. 56, section 641.1. Exclusive licensing authority;  rules and regulations

  • Residents age 16 and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Louisiana.
  • Resident members of the Armed Forces, senior citizens, and disabled individuals may be eligible for a hunting license for a reduced fee.
  • Non-residents age 16 and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Louisiana.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $15
  • A resident must pay an annual big-game hunting license fee of $14.
  • A resident must pay an annual
    • Deer season bow hunting license fee of $10.50
    • Primitive firearm hunting license fee of $10.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual waterfowl hunting license fee of $5.50
  • A resident must pay an annual wild turkey hunting license fee of $5.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $150
  • A non-resident must pay an annual big-game hunting license fee of $150.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual:
    • Deer season bow hunting license fee of $26
    • Primitive firearm hunting license fee of $26.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual waterfowl hunting license fee of $20.50
  • A non-resident must pay an annual wild turkey hunting license fee of $20.50.
  • Deer
  • Alligator
  • Duck
  • Pheasant
  • Quail
  • Dove
  • Goose
  • Woodcock
  • Rail
  • Snipe
  • Coot
  • Gallinule
  • Bobcat
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Louisiana for at least 180 days prior to applying for a hunting license, present a Louisiana driver's license or I.D. card.

Louisiana deer hunting season is from October through mid-February with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Maine

Maine Revised Statutes Title 12. Conservation section 11109. Licenses and fees

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Maine.
  • Residents and their immediate family members may hunt on land they own without a hunting license if the land exceeds 10 acres and is used exclusively for agricultural purposes.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Maine.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $15.
  • A resident must pay an annual big game hunting license fee of $26
  • A junior (under the age of 15) resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $8.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $36
  • A junior (ages 10–15) resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $75 or
    • 3-day small game hunting license fee of $50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual big game hunting license fee of $115.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual junior (under the age of 15) hunting license fee of $35.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $318.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional permits for hunting bear, coyote, deer, moor, falcon, pheasant, migratory waterfowl, and wild turkey.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Turkey
  • Moose
  • Migratory birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Maine for at least 1 year and has either is registered to vote in Maine, has a Maine driver's license, has registered a vehicle in Maine, has complied with state income tax filings in Maine, or is a full-time student at a college or university within the state of Maine.

Maine deer hunting season is from October through mid-December with season restrictions on method of hunting and region.

Maryland

Maryland Code, Natural Resources section 10-301

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Maryland.
  • Residents who are members of the Armed Forces and are on leave in Maryland are exempt from hunting license requirements except for migratory bird stamps.
  • Residents may hunt on land they own without a hunting license. The resident owner's family may also hunt on the owned land so long as they live, work, or manage the property .
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Maine.
  • Resident and non-residents 65 years of age and older may received an annual hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $24.50
  • A resident junior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $10.5
  • A resident senior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $130 or
    • 3-day license fee of $45.
  • A non-resident junior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $32.50.
  • A non-resident senior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $65.
  • Residents and non-residents must also obtain migratory game bird stamps, archery stamps, muzzleloader stamps, and deer stamps.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Coyote
  • Beaver
  • Mink
  • Turkey
  • Migratory game birds
  • Furbearers
  • Grouse
  • Pheasant
  • Quail
  • Fox
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have proof that they reside in the state of Maryland.

Maryland deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-January with season restrictions on type of deer, method of hunting, and region.

Massachusetts

Massachusetts General Laws Part I. Administration of the Government (Ch. 1-182) Ch. 131, Section 11

  • Residents 15 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Massachusetts.
  • Residents with disabilities may apply for a hunting license free of charge.
  • Non-residents 15 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Massachusetts.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $22.50.
  • A resident minor (ages 15–17) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $6.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $30.50
  • A resident minor (ages 15–17) must pay an annual trapping license fee of $6.50,
  • A resident senior (ages 65–69) must pay an annual trapping license fee of $15.25.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual big game hunting license fee of $94.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $60.50.
  • Residents and non-residents must also obtain stamps or permits for hunting waterfowl, archery, bear, antlerless deer, and turkey.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Turkey
  • Waterfowl
  • Pheasant
  • Crow
  • Quail
  • Grouse
  • Coyote
  • Fox
  • Bobcat
  • Opossum, raccoon
  • Fisher
  • Mink
  • River otter
  • Migratory game birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Massachusetts for 6 consecutive months prior to applying for a hunting license.

Massachusetts deer hunting season is from October through December with season restrictions on method of hunting and zones.

Michigan

Michigan Compiled Laws, Chapter 324. Natural Resources and Environmental Protection section 324.43523a

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Michigan.
  • Residents who are full time active duty members of the military or are disabled veterans my apply for and obtain a hunting license free of charge.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Michigan.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to purchase a annual base license to hunt small game and to purchase additional licenses and permits for other game hunting.
  • A resident must pay an annual base license fee of $11 or
    • A junior annual base license fee of $6
    • A senior annual base license fee of $5.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual base license fee of $151 or
    • 7-day annual small game license fee of $80
    • 3-day annual small game license fee of $50.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to apply for and obtain additional licenses and permits for hunting deer, bear, elk, turkey, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Elk
  • Turkey
  • Furbearers
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have a residence in Michigan with the intent to remain in the state.

  • Michigan deer hunting season is from mid-September to mid-January with season restrictions on type of deer, method of hunting, and zone.
  • Reserved deer hunting is from mid-July through mid-August for individuals with disabilities by application only.
Minnesota

Minnesota Statutes Game and Fish section 97A.405. License requirements

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Minnesota.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Minnesota.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game license fee of $22 or
    • 3-day small game license fee of $19.
    • A youth (ages 16–17) annual small game hunting license fee of $5
    • A senior citizen annual small game license fee of $13.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $23 or
    • A junior annual trapping license fee of $5
    • A senior citizen annual trapping fee of $11.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $102 or
    • 3-day small game hunting license fee of $75
    • A youth (ages 16–17) annual small game license fee of $5.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $84.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to apply for and obtain additional licenses, permits, or stamps for hunting deer, bear, elk, moose, waterfowl, sandhill crane, prairie chicken, and turkey.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Moose
  • Coyote
  • Elk
  • Turkey
  • Duck
  • Pheasant
  • Grouse
  • Prairie chicken
  • Rail
  • Snipe
  • Dove
  • Crow
  • Crane
  • Partridge
  • Woodcock
  • Waterfowl
  • Furbearers
  • Fox
  • Bobcat
  • Badger
  • Opossum
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have maintained a legal residence in the state of Minnesota for at least 60 days immediately prior to applying for and obtaining a hunting license. A resident may show this by providing a valid Minnesota state driver's license or I.D. that is at least 60 days old. A nonresident under the age of 21 may qualify as a resident if their parent is a Minnesota resident according to these requirements.

Minnesota deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-January with requirements on method of hunting and zone.

Mississippi

Mississippi Code Title 49. Conservation and Ecology section 49-7-5. Combination resident hunting and fishing license;  resident apprentice hunting license

  • Residents over the age of 16 and under the age of 65 are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Mississippi.
  • Residents with disabilities are exempt from hunting license requirements.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Mississippi.
  • Active duty members of the military, stationed in Mississippi are required to purchase a resident hunting license to legally hunt in Mississippi.
  • A resident must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $25.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $10
  • A resident junior (under 16) must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $2.30
  • A resident senior (over the age of 65) must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $2.30.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping hunting license fee of $25.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $300 or
    • 7-day all game hunting license fee of $125
    • 3-day all game hunting license fee of $125
  • A non-resident junior (under 16) must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $110 or
    • 7-day all game hunting license fee of $60
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $95 or
    • 7-day small game hunting license fee of $38
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $205.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional permits and stamps for hunting deer, turkey, and duck.
  • Deer
  • Opossum
  • Raccoon
  • Bobcat
  • Quail
  • Turkey
  • Goose
  • Woodcock
  • Snipe
  • Gallinule
  • Rail
  • Snipe
  • Dove
  • Crow
  • Duck
  • Merganser
  • Coot
  • Rabbit
  • Squirrel

Residency requires an individual to have their permanent home within the state of Mississippi. Individuals may also be considered residents for hunting license purposes if they are students at a Mississippi college or university.

Mississippi deer hunting season is from October through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

Missouri

Missouri Revised Statutes Title XVI 252.030. Wildlife of Missouri — ownership and title.

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Missouri.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Missouri.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting permit fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting permit fee of $94, 1-day permit fee of $14.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual furbearer hunting and trapping permit fee of $192.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional permits for hunting deer, elk, migratory birds, and turkey.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Turkey
  • Migratory birds
  • Turkey
  • Waterfowl
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in Missouri for 30 consecutive days prior to applying for a hunting license.

Missouri deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Montana

Montana Title 87. Fish and Wildlife section 87-2-116. Base hunting license prerequisite for other hunting licenses--fee

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Montana. Residents are required to purchase an annual base hunting license and additional permits for specific game may be obtained in addition to that license.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Montana.
  • A resident must pay an annual base hunting license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual base hunting license fee of $15.
  • Residents and non-residents must also apply for special limited permits and licenses through drawings for hunting deer, elk, moose, bison, sheep, goat, and antelope.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Elk
  • Moose
  • Mountain lion
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Bison
  • Antelope
  • Mountain goat
  • Wolf
  • Furbearers
  • Turkey
  • Swan
  • Sandhill crane
  • Migratory birds
  • Upland birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in the state of Montana for at least 180 consecutive days prior to applying for and obtaining a hunting license. The individual must have their principal or primary home or place of abode within the state, file Montana state income taxes, have licenses and titles in Montana, does not possess or apply for resident hunting, fishing, or trapping licenses from another state or country, and registers to vote only in the state of Montana.

Montana deer hunting season is from September through November with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Nebraska

Nebraska Revised Statutes Chapter 37. Game and Parks section 37-401. Hunting, fishing, or fur-harvesting permit;  required, when;  exemptions;  violation;  penalty

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Nebraska.
  • Residents who have been deployed with any branch of the military may apply for a one time Deployed Military Permit within 12 months of their return.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Nebraska.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $18.
  • A resident senior (69 and older) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • A resident must pay an annual fur harvest license fee of $18.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $97.
  • A non-resident youth must pay an annual hunting license fee of $18.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual fur harvest license fee of $227.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional stamps for hunting waterfowl and upland birds.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain permits for hunting deer, antelope, turkey, elk and bighorn sheep. Some permits are by lottery drawing only.
  • Deer
  • Antelope
  • Elk
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Turkey
  • Bobcat
  • Raccoon
  • Fox
  • Opossum
  • Weasel
  • Beaver
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Coyotes
  • Porcupine
  • Prairie dog
  • Woodchuck
  • Upland game
  • Rabbit
  • Dove
  • Squirrel

Residency requires an individual to have resided in the state of Nebraska for at least 30 consecutive days prior to applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Nebraska deer hunting season is from September through January with season restrictions on method of hunting and type of deer. Deer hunting in Nebraska requires a deer permit and a Habitat stamp.

Nevada

Nevada Revised Statutes Title 45. Wildlife section 502.010. License or permit required for hunting or fishing;  exceptions;  limitations on hunting by minors

  • Residents 12 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Nevada. A child under the age of 12 is not permitted to hunt big game in Nevada.
  • Non-residents 12 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Nevada. A child under the age of 12 is not permitted to hunt big game in Nevada.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $39.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $41.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting and fishing combination license fee of $156.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $189.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain specialty tags for big game.
  • Residents and non-residents must apply for a drawing to obtain permits to hunt mule deer, elk, antelope and bighorn sheep.
  • Mule deer
  • Black bear
  • Elk
  • Antelope
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Upland game birds
  • Migratory birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Turkey
  • Jackrabbit
  • Furbearers
  • Coyote
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided in the state of Nevada for 6 months prior to applying for and obtaining a hunting license. The individual must maintain their permanent residence in the state of Nevada, be physically present within the state, and must not have purchased or applied for any hunting, fishing, or trapping privilege or entitlement as a resident of another state, country or province.
  • A full-time student at an institution of higher learning in the state of Nevada may be considered a resident for hunting license purposes.

Nevada deer hunting season is from August through December with season restrictions on method of hunting and the unit group based on drawing permits.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Revised Statutes Title 18. Hunting, Fishing, and Trapping section 214:1 License Required.

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New Hampshire.
  • Residents over the age of 68 may qualify for a reduced fee hunting license.
  • Resident active duty military members may qualify for a temporary hunting license free of charge.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New Hampshire.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $32.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $36.
  • A resident senior (68 years of age and older) must pay an annual hunting and fishing combination license fee of $7.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $113.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $53 or
    • 3-day small game hunting license fee of $25.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional licenses or permits for hunting pheasant, bear, wild turkey, and migratory waterfowl. Additional licenses are also required for hunting methods including archery and muzzleloader.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Moose
  • Turkey
  • Pheasant
  • Migratory waterfowl
  • furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have a valid New Hampshire driver's license or state I.D. card.

New Hampshire deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-December with season restrictions on method of hunting.

 

New Jersey

New Jersey Statutes Title 23. Fish and Game, Wild Birds and Animals 23 section 3-1

  • Residents 10 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New Jersey.
  • Active duty members of the military may obtain a resident hunting license. Resident veterans with a service related disability may be eligible for a hunting license free of charge.
  • Farmers and their immediate family members who reside on the farm may hunt their land without a hunting license.
  • Non-residents 10 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New Jersey.
  • A resident must pay an annual firearm hunting license fee of $27.50.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual firearm annual hunting license fee of $15.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual bow and arrow hunting license fee of $31.50.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual bow and arrow annual hunting license fee of $16.50.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $32.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual firearm hunting license fee of $135.
  • A non-resident must pay an 2-day small game hunting license fee of 36.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an 1-day commercial preserves hunting license fee of $12.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual bow and arrow hunting license fee of $135.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $200.50.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional permits and stamps for hunting deer, antlered buck, black bear, turkey, pheasant, quail, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Turkey
  • Fox
  • Coyote
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have lived within the state of New Jersey for 6 months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

New Jersey deer hunting season is from mid-September through the start of January with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

New Mexico

New Mexico Statutes Chapter 17. Game and Fish and Outdoor Recreation section 17-3-1. Current license required

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New Mexico.
  • Residents who are active duty members of the military or honorably discharged veterans may received a 50% discount on all licenses, permits, and stamps. Residents who have a 100% service related disability may be eligible for a lifetime hunting license free of charge. Resident veterans with a disability may be eligible for a hunting license at a reduced fee. Residents who are members of the National Guard or U.S. Armed Forces, called to active duty on or after April 3, 2003 are eligible for a hunting license free of charge one year after deactivation and return to New Mexico.
  • Residents deployed to Iraq or Afghanistan are eligible for an exclusive once-in-a-lifetime oryx hunt.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New Mexico.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $15.
  • A resident junior must pay an annual small game annual hunting license fee of $10.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $10
  • A resident disabled veteran must pay an annual small game hunting and fishing combination license fee of $10.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $20
  • A resident junior (ages 12-17) must pay an annual trapping license fee of $9.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $65, 4-day small game hunting license fee of $33.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $345.
  • Residents and non-residents must obtain additional licenses or permits for hunting deer, antelope, bear, oryx, cougar, turkey, sheep, and ibex.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Bear
  • Cougar
  • Antelope
  • Barbary sheep
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Javelina
  • Oryx
  • Ibex
  • Upland game
  • Turkey
  • Furbearers
  • Migratory game birds
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual must have resided within New Mexico for at least 90 days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license, and do not claim residency elsewhere.
  • a citizen of another country who has legally resided in New Mexico for at least 90 days.
  • A member of the U.S. military permanently assigned to a location within New Mexico.
  • A member of the U.S. military stationed at Fort Bliss.

New Mexico deer hunting season is from September through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

New York

New York Consolidated Laws, Environmental Conservation Law - ENV section 11-0701. Definitions of licenses and privileges of licensees

  • Residents 12 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New York.
  • Resident seniors 70 years of age and older qualify for a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Residents that are active military members that are in New York on leave for 30 days or less, or members of the NYS Organized Militia or U.S. Reserve Forces may obtain a hunting license free of charge.
  • Resident veterans with at least a 40% service related disability may obtain a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Non-residents that are members of the military stationed in New York for more than 30 days may a obtain resident hunting license.
  • Non-residents 12 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of New York.
  • Native American members of Shinnecock and Poospatuck or the Six Nations, residing on the reservation within New York may obtain hunting and trapping licenses and other privileges free of charge.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $22.
  • A resident junior (ages 12–15 )must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • A resident senior (70 years and older) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • A resident veterans with at least a 40% service related disability must pay an annual hunting, trapping, fishing license fee of $5.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting fee of $100.
  • A non-resident junior (ages 12–15) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, privileges, and permits for bowhunting, muzzleloading, hunting turkey, duck, and deer.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Turkey
  • Pheasant
  • Grouse
  • Woodcock
  • Quail
  • Waterfowl
  • Canada geese
  • Snow geese
  • Bluebills
  • Duck
  • Northern pintail
  • Mergansers
  • Furbearers
  • Bobcat
  • Coyote
  • Snapping turtle
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have permanent residency (maintain a fixed permanent home to which you intend to return) in the state of New York for more than 30 days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.
  • Residency can be proven by showing a New York driver's license, state I.D. card, New York vehicle registration, a previous year income tax form, a current voter registration card, a current student I.D. card from a New York state college or university, Military paperwork, or a current pay stub. Each form of proof must provide a New York address.

New York deer hunting season is from mid-September through January with season restrictions on method of hunting, zone, and county.

North Carolina

North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 113. Conservation and Development section 113-270.2. Hunting licenses

  • Residents 16 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of North Carolina.
  • Non-residents 16 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of North Carolina.
  • Active duty members of the military stationed in North Carolina may obtain a resident hunting license.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $25.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $32.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $100, Georgia resident annual hunting license fee of $100, South Carolina resident annual hunting license fee of $125, Tennessee resident annual hunting license fee of $90, Virginia resident annual hunting license fee of $110.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $133.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Turkey
  • Beaver
  • Bobcat
  • Armadillo
  • Coyote
  • Fox
  • Feral swine
  • Groundhog
  • Opossum
  • Nutria
  • Rabbit
  • Raccoon
  • Skunk
  • Squirrel
  • Grouse
  • Crow
  • Pheasant
  • Quail
  • Waterfowl
  • Woodcock
  • Snipe
  • Rail
  • Dove

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of North Carolina for at least 6 months or have maintained a permanent residence for 60 days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

North Carolina deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-February with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

North Dakota

North Dakota Century Code Title 20.1. Game, Fish, Predators, and Boating section 20.1-03-02. General game license--Stamps allowed for specific licenses

  • Residents 16 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of North Dakota.
  • Members of the military on duty or on leave may be eligible for a resident hunting license by application.
  • Non-residents 16 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of North Dakota.
  • A resident must pay an annual fishing, hunting, furbearer certificate required annual fee of $1.
  • A resident must pay an annual general game and habitat license fee of $20.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $10.
  • Residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits or stamps to hunt deer, pronghorn, moose, elk, bighorn sheep, Canada goose, wild turkey, sandhill crane, swan, furbearer animals, and waterfowl.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual fishing, hunting, furbearer certificate required annual fee of $2.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual general game and habitat license fee of $20.
  • A non-resident must pay a small game hunting license fee of $100.
  • Non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits or stamps to hunt deer, pronghorn, moose, elk, bighorn sheep, Canada goose, wild turkey, sandhill crane, swan, furbearer animals, and waterfowl.
  • Residents and non-residents must apply for special licenses by lottery to hunt deer (gun), moose, elk, bighorn sheep, tundra swan and wild turkey.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Moose
  • Pronghorn
  • Waterfowl
  • Turkey
  • Pheasant
  • Grouse
  • Upland game
  • Dove
  • Crow
  • Sandhill crane
  • Snipe
  • Woodcock
  • Furbearers
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of North Dakota or maintained a legal residence in North Dakota for at least 6 months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license. That individual may not claim residency in any other state.
  • Individuals may petition for a waiver of residency if they have a bona fide intention of becoming a North Dakota Resident.

North Dakota deer hunting season is from September through early January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Ohio

Ohio Revised Code Title XV. Conservation of Natural Resources section 1533.08

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Ohio.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Ohio.
  • Active duty members of the military stationed within Ohio may obtain a resident hunting license. Active duty members of the military on leave or furlough are exempt from hunting license and trapping furbearer requirements.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $19 or
    • 3-year hunting license fee of $54.08
    • 5-year hunting license fee of $90.22
    • 10-year hunting license fee of $180.44
    • A lifetime hunting license fee of $468.
  • A resident youth (17 years of age and younger)must pay an annual hunting license fee of $10 or
    • 3-year hunting license fee of $28.60
    • 5-year hunting license fee of $47.58
    • 10-year hunting license fee of $95.16
    • A lifetime hunting license fee of $430.56.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $10 or
    • 3-year hunting license fee of $28.60
    • 5-year hunting license fee of $47.58
    • A lifetime hunting license fee of $84.24.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $180.96 or
    • 3-day hunting license fee of $40.56.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, or stamps for hunting deer, turkey, migratory birds, waterfowl, and furbearer animals.
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Coyote
  • Feral swine
  • Waterfowl
  • Dove
  • Rail
  • Moorhen
  • Snipe
  • Woodcock
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Ohio for at least 6 consecutive months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Ohio deer hunting season is from late September through early February with restrictions on method of hunting.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Statutes Title 29. Game and Fish section 4-112. Hunting - Certificate of competency and safety – Exemptions – Apprentice designation.

  • Residents 16 years of age and older and under the age of 65 are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Oklahoma.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Oklahoma.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $25.
  • A resident youth (ages 16–17) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $142 or
    • 5-day hunting license fee of $75.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $345.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, or stamps for hunting deer, elk, antelope, bear, turkey, duck, waterfowl, and sandhill crane.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Antelope
  • Bear
  • Pronghorn
  • Turkey
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory game birds
  • Quail
  • Pheasant
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided in the state of Oklahoma for at least 60 consecutive days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license. To obtain a 5-year hunting license, a residence must have resided within the state of Oklahoma for at least 6 consecutive months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a license.

Oklahoma deer hunting season is from October through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Oregon

Oregon Revised Statutes Wildlife section 497.102

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Oregon.
  • Resident members of the military assigned to active duty in Oregon may apply for and obtain a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Non-resident members of the military may apply for and obtain a resident Oregon hunting license.
  • A disabled veteran with at least a 25% service-related disability may qualify for a free Oregon hunting license.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Oregon.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $34.50, youth (ages 12–17) annual hunting license fee of $10, senior (70 years of age and older) annual hunting license fee of $22.
  • A resident uniformed service member must pay an annual hunting fee of $17.
  • A resident disabled veteran must pay an annual hunting and fishing combination license fee of $0.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $172.
  • A non-resident uniformed service member must pay an annual hunting license fee of $34.50.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional tags or stamps for hunting deer, black bear, cougar, elk, bighorn sheep, pronghorn antelope, rocky mountain goat, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Cougar
  • Elk
  • Rocky mountain goat
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Pronghorn antelope
  • Feral pig
  • Furbearers
  • Upland game birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Grouse
  • Coyote
  • Squirrel
  • Rabbit
  • Hare
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Oregon for at least 6 months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.
  • Individuals who are attending school within the state of Oregon is considered a resident for hunting license purposes.

Oregon deer hunting season is from late August through early November with season restrictions on method of hunting and region. The eastern archery season is controlled hunt only available only by drawing or lottery.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Statutes Title 34 Pa.C.S.A. Game section 2701. License requirements

  • Residents 17 years of age and older and under 65 years of age are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Pennsylvania.
  • Resident seniors over the age of 65 and older qualify for a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Members of the armed forces qualify for a hunting license at a reduced fee.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Pennsylvania.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of$20.90.
  • A resident junior (ages 12–16) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $6.90.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $13.90 or
    • A senior lifetime hunting license fee of $51.90.
  • A resident must pay an annual furtaker license fee of $20.90.
  • A resident junior (ages 12–16) must pay anannual furtaker license fee of $6.90.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual furtaker license fee of $13.90 or
    • A senior lifetime furtaker license fee of $51.90.
  • A resident member of the military must pay an annual hunting license fee of $2.90.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $101.90.
  • A non-resident junior must pay an hunting license fee of $41.90.
  • A non-resident must pay a 7-day small game hunting license fee of $31.90.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual furtaker license fee of $81.90.
  • A non-resident junior must pay an annual furtaker license fee of $41.90.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and privileges to hunt bear, elk, turkey, migratory game bird, bobcat, fisher, river otter, pheasant, and duck.
  • Deer
  • Black bear
  • Elk
  • Turkey
  • Coyote
  • Bobcat
  • Striped skunk
  • Opossum, weasel
  • Raccoon
  • Migratory birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Pennsylvania for at least 30 consecutive days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.
  • Members of the military that are domiciled in the state of Pennsylvania but stationed outside of the state are considered residents for hunting license purposes.

Pennslyvania deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting and region.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island General Laws Title 20. Fish and Wildlife section 20-16-2. Landowners--Nuisance fur-bearers

  • Residents 12 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Rhode Island
  • Non-residents 12 years of age and older are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Rhode Island.
  • Active duty members of the military may obtain an active duty military personnel hunting license as a resident.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $18.
  • A resident junior (ages 12–14) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $18.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $45 or
    • 3-day hunting license fee of $16.
  • A non-resident junior (ages 12–14) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $ $45.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $30.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional permits and tags to hunt deer, turkey, game birds, waterfowl, and migratory birds.
  • Deer
  • Turkey
  • Coyote
  • Fox
  • Pheasant
  • Duck
  • Goose
  • Rabbit
  • Game birds
  • Migratory birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Rhode Island for at least 6 months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Rhode Island deer hunting season is from mid-September through February with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

South Carolina

South Carolina Code Title 50. Fish, Game, and Watercraft section 50-9-10. Unlicensed activities; violations; penalties.

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of South Carolina.
  • Resident active duty members of the military stationed outside of the state of South Carolina are exempt from hunting license requirements. Additional permits and tags are still required for resident military members.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of South Carolina.
  • Non-resident members of the military who have been stationed in South Carolina for at least 30 days and are domiciled in the state may qualify for a resident hunting license.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $12 or
    • 3-year hunting license fee of $36.
  • A resident must pay an annual big game permit fee of $6 or
    • 3-year big game permit fee of $18.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $25.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $125 or
    • 10-day hunting license fee of $75
    • 3-day hunting license fee of $40.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual big game permit fee of $100.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $200.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and tags for hunting on WMA lands or shooting preserves, hunting deer, bear, alligator, migratory birds, migratory waterfowl, and turkey.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Alligator
  • Coyote
  • Turkey
  • Wild hog
  • Migratory birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Dove
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have permanent residence within the state of South Carolina. Proof of residency can be shown by a valid South Carolina driver's license or I.D. card. An individual may not be a South Carolina resident for hunting license purposes if they are licensed in another state.

South Carolina deer hunting season is from mid-August through early January with season restrictions on method of hunting and zone.

South Dakota

South Dakota Statute section 41-6-12 Resident and nonresident licenses and preference points--Minimum age.

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of South Dakota.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of South Dakota.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $33 or
    • 1-day small game hunting license fee of $12.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $30.
  • Residents only may apply for additional licenses or permits to hunt elk, bighorn sheep, mountain goat, mountain lion, and Canada goose.
  • A non-resident must pay a 10-day small game hunting license fee of $121.
  • A non-resident youth must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $275.
  • Non-residents are required to obtain a license for hunting on shooting preserves.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and tags for hunting deer, trophy buffalo, antelope, turkey, waterfowl, and tundra swan.
  • Residents and non-residents may apply to obtain 1 of 8 available trophy buffalo licenses available in South Dakota each year. Out of the 8 licenses, 2 are exclusively for residents and 6 are available to residents or non-residents.
  • Deer
  • Antelope
  • Buffalo
  • Elk
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Mountain goat
  • Mountain lion
  • Waterfowl
  • Turkey
  • Duck
  • Canada goose
  • Tundra swan
  • Sandhill crane
  • Dove
  • Snipe
  • Coot
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of South Dakota for at least 90 consecutive days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license, and may make no claim to residency in any other state or country.
  • Active duty members of the military who are stationed in South Dakota may claim residency for hunting license purposes.

South Dakota deer hunting season is from September through early January with season restrictions on method of hunting and region.

Tennessee

Tennessee Code Title 70. Wildlife Resources section 70-2-201

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Tennessee.
  • Residents and their spouses and children who are landowners residing on that land may be exempt from hunting license requirements. To qualify for the farmland owner's exemption the landowner must complete a statement attesting to the ownership of their land.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Tennessee.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting and fishing (combination only) license fee of $34.
  • A resident junior (ages 13–15) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $10.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $5.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $34.
  • A resident junior annual (ages 13–15) must pay an annual trapping license fee of $10.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual trapping license fee of $5.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $305 or
    • 7-day all game hunting fee of $214.50
  • A non-resident junior (ages 13–15) must pay an annual all game hunting license fee of $42 or
    • junior (ages 13–15) 7-day all game hunting license fee of $27.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game and waterfowl hunting license fee of $111 or
    • 7-day small game and waterfowl hunting license fee of $61.50
  • A non-resident junior (ages 13–15) must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $11.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $201.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain supplemental licenses to hunt big game.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Bear
  • Boar
  • Turkey
  • Waterfowl
  • Migratory birds
  • Game birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have a valid Tennessee driver's license or state I.D. for hunting license purposes. An individual may also prove residency if they have resided within the state of Tennessee for at least 90 consecutive days with the intent of making Tennessee their permanent residence and provide two Tennessee documents either a voter registration card, vehicle registration or title, an I-94 form, a current rental or mortgage contract, or receipt of payment for real estate taxes.

Tennessee deer hunting season is from late August through early January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Texas

Texas Parks and Wildlife Code - PARKS & WILD section 42.002. Resident License Required;  Exemption

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Texas.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Texas.
  • Active duty members of the military may qualify for a resident hunting license.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $25.
  • A resident youth (under the age of 17) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $7.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $7.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $19.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual general hunting license fee of $315.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $315.
  • Non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses to hunt turkey, exotic animals, alligator, game birds, banded birds, furbearers, javelina, and non-game animals.
  • Deer
  • Alligator
  • Pronghorn antelope
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Javelina
  • Turkey
  • Upland game birds
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Texas for at least 6 months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Texas deer hunting season is from early October through January with season restrictions on type of deer, method of hunting, and county.

Utah

Utah Code Title 23. Wildlife Resources Code of Utah section 23-19-24. Resident hunting license--Use of fee

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Utah.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Utah.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $34.
  • A resident youth (ages 14–17) must pay an annual license fee of $16
  • A resident junior (13 years of age and younger) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $11.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual annual hunting license fee of $25.
  • A resident disabled veteran must pay an annual annual hunting and fishing combination license fee of $28.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $72 or
    • 3-day small game hunting license fee of $42.
  • A non-resident youth (ages 17 years of age and younger) must pay an annual license fee of $29.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional permits for hunting deer, elk, pronghorn antelope, moose, bison, sheep, mountain goat, cougar, bear, turkey, swan, grouse, sandhill crane, and furbearer.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Moose
  • Elk
  • Pronghorn antelope
  • Bison
  • Sheep
  • Cougar
  • Mountain goat
  • Turkey
  • Swan
  • Waterfowl
  • Upland game
  • Falconry
  • Coyote
  • Furbearers
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Utah for at least 6 consecutive months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license, and does not claim residency for hunting purposes in any other state or country.
  • An individual who is otherwise a resident of Utah but is out of state as a member of the armed forces, religious, or educational purposes is still a resident for hunting license purposes.

Utah deer hunting season is from mid-August through early November with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Vermont

Vermont Statutes Title 10 section 4251. Taking wild animals and fish; license

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Vermont.
  • Resident active duty members of the military may obtain a hunting license fee of cost.
  • Non-resident active duty members of the military may obtain a resident hunting license.
  • Resident veterans who have a 60% service related disability may be eligible for a permanent hunting license free of charge.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Vermont.
  • Residents and non-residents with disability may qualify for a free permanent hunting license by application.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $28.
  • A resident youth (under age 18) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $8.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $23 or
    • 5-year trapping license fee of $109
  • A resident youth (under age 18) must pay an trapping license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $102.
  • A non-resident youth (under age 18) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $25.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game license fee of $50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $305 or
    • 5-year trapping license fee of $1,519.
  • A non-resident youth (under age 18) must pay an annual trapping license fee of $300.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and stamps for hunting deer, bear, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Moose
  • Turkey
  • Grouse
  • Woodcock
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Vermont for at least 6 months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Vermont deer hunting season is from October through mid-December with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Virginia

Virginia Code Title 29.1. Game, Inland Fisheries and Boating section 29.1-300. Unlawful to hunt, trap or fish without license

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Virginia.
  • Active duty members of the military and their immediate family may be eligible for a resident hunting license.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Virginia.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $23 or
    • 2-year hunting license fee. of$44
    • 3-year hunting license fee of $65
    • 4-year hunting license fee of $86.
  • A resident senior (65 years of age and older) must pay an annual hunting license fee of $9.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $111 or
    • 3-day hunting license fee of $60.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and tags for hunting deer, bear, turkey, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Elk
  • Turkey
  • Spring turkey
  • Migratory game birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Furbearer
  • Crow
  • Groundhog
  • Grouse,
  • Quail
  • Pheasant
  • Rabbit
  • Squirrel

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Virginia for at least 6 consecutive months immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Virginia deer hunting season is from early September through late March with season restrictions on method of hunting and area.

Washington

Washington Revised Code Title 77. Fish and Wildlife section 77.32.010. Recreational license required--Activities--Pass or permit for parking

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Washington.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Washington.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $40.50.
  • A resident youth (under age 16) must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $18.50.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $18.50.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $183.50 or
    • 3-day small game license fee of $68.
  • A non-resident youth (under age 16) must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $18.50.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and tags for hunting deer, elk, bear, cougar, moose, mountain goat, bighorn sheep, turkey, migratory birds, and pheasant.
  • Deer
  • Elk
  • Bear
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Cougar
  • Moose
  • Mountain lion
  • Turkey
  • Migratory birds
  • Pheasant
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Washington for at least 90 days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license. Residency may be proven by a Washington driver's license, state I.D. card, or military I.D. showing Washington as the duty station.

Washington deer hunting season is from mid-September through mid-November with season restrictions on method of hunting and area.

West Virginia

West Virginia Code Chapter 20. Natural Resources section 20-2-27. Necessity for license

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of West Virginia.
  • Resident active duty military stationed outside of West Virginia may still obtain a resident hunting license.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of West Virginia.
  • A resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $23 or
    • 2-year hunting license fee of $44
    • 3-year hunting license fee of $65
    • 4-year hunting license fee of $86.
  • A resident junior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $8.50.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $9.
  • A resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $46.
  • A resident junior must pay an annual trapping license fee of $11.
  • A resident senior must pay an annual trapping license fee of $9.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual hunting license fee of $111 or
    • 3-day hunting license fee of $60.
  • A non-resident junior must pay an annual hunting license fee of $16.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual trapping license fee of $206.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and stamps for hunting deer, bear, fox, migratory birds, and waterfowl.
  • Deer
  • Bear, elk
  • Wild boar
  • Turkey
  • Quail
  • Migratory birds
  • Waterfowl
  • Small game
  • Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of West Virginia for at least 30 days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.
  • A full-time student at a West Virginia college or university may be considered a resident for hunting license purposes.

West Virginia deer hunting season is from late September through mid-January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Statutes Police Regulations (Ch. 163 to 177) section 169.05. Taking of wild animals

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Wisconsin.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Wisconsin.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $18.
  • A resident junior (ages 12-17)must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $9.
  • A resident youth (under age 12) must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $7.
  • A resident must pay an annual furbearer hunting license fee of $20.
  • A resident youth must pay an annual furbearer hunting license fee of $10.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $85 or
    • 5-day small game hunting license fee of $55
  • A non-resident youth (under age 12) must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $7.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual furbearer hunting license fee of $160.
  • A non-resident youth must pay an annual furbearer hunting license fee of$7.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, and stamps for hunting deer, bear elk, wolf, waterfowl, goose, pheasant, grouse, and bobcat.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Elk
  • Wolf
  • Waterfowl
  • Goose
  • Pheasant
  • Grouse
  • Partridge
  • Quail
  • Crow
  • Migratory game birds
  • Furbearers
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Wisconsin for at least 30 days immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license.

Wisconsin deer hunting season is from mid-September through January with season restrictions on method of hunting.

Wyoming

Wyoming Statutes Title 23. Game and Fish section 23-1-701. Selling agents;  administration of oaths;  licenses, permits and game tags

  • Residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Wyoming.
  • Non-residents are required to apply for and obtain a hunting license to legally hunt in the state of Wyoming.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game hunting license fee of $16.
  • A resident must pay an annual small game and bird combined hunting license fee of $27.
  • A non-resident must pay an annual small game and bird combined hunting license fee of $74 or
    • 1-day small game and bird hunting license fee of $22
  • A non-resident youth must pay an annual small game and bird hunting license fee of $40.
  • Residents and non-residents are required to obtain additional licenses, permits, tags, and stamps for hunting deer, bear, elk, antelope, bighorn sheep, bison, gray wolf, mountain goat, mountain lion, turkey, goose, game birds, and falcon.
  • Deer
  • Bear
  • Elk
  • Antelope
  • Bighorn sheep
  • Bison
  • Gray wolf
  • Mountain goat
  • Mountain lion
  • Turkey
  • Goose
  • Game birds
  • Falcon
  • Small game

Residency requires an individual to have resided within the state of Wyoming for at least 1 year immediately preceding applying for and obtaining a hunting license and may not claim residency elsewhere for any other purposes.

Wyoming deer hunting season is from September through November with season restrictions on method of hunting and region.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Questions About Your Legal Rights as a Hunter?

All states with the exclusion of Washington D.C. allow hunting game within their boundaries. However, each state has unique regulations and requirements for hunting that must be strictly followed. With the vast diversity of territory and types of land within the United States, you may hunt different game in different states, most requiring an individual to obtain additional or special licenses, permits, or tags. Check your state regulations or the regulations from the state you will be visiting before you hunt. If you are unsure about hunting regulations in the state you wish to hunt, consult with an experienced hunting law attorney in that state.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options