Utah Car Accident Report Basics

Most people know they should stop and pull over after a car accident. However, many Utah residents are probably unaware of the specific reporting responsibilities required by state law. Whether your car crash occurred on your way to Zion or during Salt Lake City rush hour, read on to learn more about Utah car accident report basics.

Utah Car Accident Report Laws

It's important to remember that you must remain at the scene of the accident after a car accident in Utah; but if possible, move your car off the road so you're not obstructing traffic. You must also exchange information with the other drivers involved, providing your name, address, your car's registration number, car insurance information, and (if requested) show them your driver's license.

You also have to notify law enforcement immediately and by the quickest means of communication available if the crash resulted in death, injury, or property damage to an apparent extent of $1,500 or more. Failing to do so is considered a class C misdemeanor in Utah.

How to File a Car Crash Report in Utah

After you contact law enforcement, the responding officer will conduct an investigation by speaking with all of the drivers and any witnesses who are available. Their reports must include sufficient detail to determine the cause, conditions existing at the time of the crash, and the people and cars involved in the accident. The officer must then file an electronic copy of that report with the Department of Public Safety (DPS).

However, DPS may determine that more information is needed and may require any driver or witness to submit an additional report to the department within 10 days of the request. In that case, the department will supply the required form. And unless you are physically incapacitated, your license could be suspended if you fail to submit the required form. If you want a copy of your Utah car accident report, you can submit a request online.

Utah Car Accident Report Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of state laws related to Utah car accident reports, including links to important code sections.

Statutes

Law Enforcement Notification Required

  • Must notify police immediately if accident involves injury, death, or total property damage to an apparent extent of at least $1,500

Report Required

  • Law enforcement must submit report
  • Driver or witness must submit report if requested by DPS

Report Deadline

  • Law enforcement must submit report within 10 days of completing investigation
  • If required by DPS to submit an additional report, driver or witness must do so within 10 days of the request

Who Must Report

  • Law enforcement and any driver or witness required to submit a report by DPS
  • If driver is incapacitated but not the owner of the vehicle, the owner must file the report within 15 days of learning about the accident

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Utah Car Accident Report Basics: Related Resources

Get a Free Review of your Utah Car Accident Issues

Even a seemingly minor fender bender can end up being a time-consuming hassle. Some car accidents result in lawsuits or frustrating insurance disputes. Receive a free evaluation today to learn about your legal options or to get help with your reporting requirements under Utah car accident report laws.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.