Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Utah Gun Control Laws

Citizens are permitted to keep and bear arms under the Second Amendment. The Beehive State has additional statutes in place to help ensure safety for gun owners and the public. State gun control laws generally restrict the purchase and use of firearms within the state.

Utah Gun Statutes

The table below summarizes Utah's gun laws.

Relevant Statutes (Laws)

Utah Code, Title 76, Chapter 10, Sections 76-10-500 through 76-10-532 Utah Code, Title 53, Chapter 5, Sections 53-5-701 through 53-5-712

Illegal Arms

Utah does not prohibit specific types of firearms. However, it does prohibit minors from possessing short-barreled rifles, short-barreled shotguns, and fully automatic weapons.

Waiting Period

Utah does not require a waiting period for the purchase of a gun.

Who May Not Own

Utah prohibits a person from possessing a firearm who:
  • Has been convicted of a felony
  • Is on probation or parole for any felony
  • Is on parole from a secure facility
  • Has been adjudicated delinquent for an offense which if committed by an adult would have been a violent felony within the last 10 years
  • Is an alien who is illegally or unlawfully in the United States
  • Is on probation for a conviction of possessing certain controlled substances or a controlled substance analog
  • Has been adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if committed by an adult, would have been a felony within the last 7 years
  • Is an unlawful user of a controlled substance
  • Is in possession of a dangerous weapon and is knowingly and intentionally in unlawful possession of a Schedule I or II controlled substance
  • Has been found not guilty because of insanity for a felony offense
  • Has been found mentally incompetent to stand trial for a felony offense
  • Has been adjudicated as mentally defective as provided in the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act or has been committed to a mental institution
  • Has been dishonorably discharged from the armed forces
  • Has renounced the individual's citizenship after having been a citizen of the United States
  • Is a respondent or defendant subject to certain types of protective order or child protective order
  • Has been convicted of domestic violence

License Required?

Utah does not require a license to own a firearm.

Concealed Carry License Required?

Beginning April 17, 2021, anyone 21 years old and older can carry a concealed firearm in public if they are not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.

Open Carried Allowed?

Open carry is legal, and no permit or license is required to open carry.

Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License

A concealed carry permit is not required, but Utah offers a permit for residents who wish to conceal carry in states that offer reciprocity to Utah. To obtain a concealed carry permit, a person must:
  • Not have been convicted of a felony or crime of violence
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving domestic violence
  • Not have been adjudicated by a state or federal court as mentally incompetent
  • Be qualified to purchase and possess a firearm under Utah and federal law

Machine Gun Laws

Utah does not prohibit the possession of machine guns except by persons under 18 years old. However, federal law prohibits machine gun possession with limited exceptions.

Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession

Utah has varying penalties for illegal possession of a firearm.
  • Possessing a firearm when prohibited by law is a second-degree felony if the offender is considered a Category I restricted person. A second-degree felony is punishable by 1 to 15 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Possessing a firearm when prohibited by law is a third-degree felony if the offender is considered a Category II restricted person. A third-degree felony is punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and up to a $5,000 fine.
  • Violating Utah's concealed carry laws is a class B misdemeanor if the firearm is unloaded and a class A misdemeanor if it is loaded. A class B misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and up to a $1,000 fine. A class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year imprisonment and up to a $2,500 fine.
  • A person who carries concealed an unlawfully possessed short-barreled shotgun or a short-barreled rifle is guilty of a second-degree felony. A second-degree felony is punishable by 1 to 15 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine.

Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds

Illegal possession of a firearm on school premises is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to one-year imprisonment and up to a $2,500 fine.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Research the Law

For More Information, Contact an Attorney Licensed in Utah

If you are charged with a gun crime or want to know if your gun complies with Utah law, an attorney licensed in Utah can give you detailed advice.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options