Utah Tenant Rights Laws

Whether you're new to renting or an experienced tenant, you're probably aware of the multitude of issues that can come up during the landlord-tenant relationship. To address these issues, Utah has many laws governing the parties' rights and responsibilities, in addition to federal and local laws. Read on to learn more about Utah tenant rights laws.

Tenant Rights: Repairs, Security Deposits, and More

Like other states, Utah law prohibits discrimination based on protected characteristics such as race, religion, and gender identity. Prohibited conduct by a landlord includes refusing to rent to someone, discriminating in the lease terms or conditions, and lying about the availability of a rental unit based on a protected trait.

You're also entitled to live in a unit that's in a habitable condition such that it is safe, sanitary, and fit for human habitation. This means your landlord must maintain heating and air conditioning systems, and provide hot and cold water, among other services. However, as the tenant, you also have the responsibility to avoid intentionally or negligently damaging your rental unit.

If you do damage the rental beyond reasonable wear and tear, your landlord may retain all or part of your security deposit to cover the repairs (or for other specified reasons). In any case, however, you are entitled to receive the balance of your security deposit and a written notice of any deductions within 30 days of moving out.

Utah's rental laws are designed to guide the landlord-tenant relationship and clarify your rights as a renter. And although Utah has no statute prohibiting your landlord from retaliating against you simply because you requested repairs or complained about housing code violations, Utah case law does prohibit such actions.

Utah Tenant Rights Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of Utah state laws governing the landlord-tenant relationship, including links to important code sections.

Statutes

Security Deposits

  • Limit: No statutory maximum
  • Must return all or part of the security deposit within 30 days along with written notice for any deductions taken
  • Part or all may be used for:
    • Damages beyond reasonable wear and tear
    • Unpaid rent
    • Costs or fees specified in the rental agreement
    • Cleaning costs

Paying Rent

  • May not raise rent during lease term (e.g. 1 year lease) unless lease allows; may raise rent upon lease renewal

Living Conditions

  • Landlord must provide renter with at least 24 hours’ advance notice (or notice specified in rental agreement) to enter unit
  • Landlord must provide premises that are safe, sanitary, and fit for human occupancy: maintain electrical, plumbing, heating, hot and cold water, existing air conditioning systems, etc.; comply with local ordinances

Discrimination

  • No discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, familial status, source of income, disability, sexual orientation, or gender identity

Ending or Renewing a Tenancy

  • Landlord must give notice to terminate the tenancy:
    • Monthly and other periodic tenancies with no fixed end date: 15 days
    • Eviction: nonpayment of rent or lease violation: 3 days
  • Eviction: court order required

Retaliation

  • Landlord may not retaliate against tenant for exercising tenant rights

Note: State regulations are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Utah Tenant Rights Laws: Related Resources

Receive a Free Review of Your Tenancy Issues

While many tenancy issues can be resolved fairly with your landlord through polite communication, some problems escalate and require more time and effort. If you're dealing with a rental issue and trying to navigate all of the applicable laws and code sections, receive a free case review to get help asserting your rights under Utah's tenant rights laws.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.