Vermont Indecent Exposure Laws
Unlike most states in this country, Vermont does not have a law against public nudity. However, before you strip down to your birthday suit to flaunt what god gave you, make sure to check your city's public nudity ordinances. Although there are no indecent exposure laws that govern the entire state, some cities have enacted rules making it illegal to be completely naked in public. This is a quick summary of the indecent exposure laws in Vermont.
Lewd and Lascivious Conduct and Vermont Indecent Exposure Laws
While Vermont will not punish those that want to gallivant around their city's streets in the buff, if these people decided to act in lewd and lascivious ways while nude, then Vermont's peace officers may make an arrest. Lewd and lascivious conduct can be best defined as acting with a purpose of sexual arousal, gratification or offending another. Violators of this crime can face some prison time and fines. If the lewd act is performed in front of a person 16 years old or young, the sentence minimums increase dramatically.
The following table outlines the specifics of Vermont indecent exposure laws.
13 V.S.A. §2601: Lewd and Lascivious Conduct
Under Vermont indecent exposure laws, open and gross lewdness and lascivious behavior is a punishable crime.
A person who violates Vermont lewd and lascivious conduct law will be imprisoned for up to five years, fined up to $300, or both.
If you have been convicted of lewd and indecent conduct and would like legal assistance, you can contact a Vermont criminal defense lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on indecent exposure and criminal charges for more articles and information on this topic.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.