Vermont Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

Vermont defines marriage as the legally recognized union of two people. Due to the landmark ruling by the Supreme Court of the United States, marriage can be between a man and a women or between people of the same sex throughout the nation. While discrimination of marriage is no longer an issue, marriage license requirements may still stand in the way of a loving Vermont couple determined to be wed. This is a quick summary of the marriage license and blood test requirements in Vermont.

Required Information to Fulfill Vermont Marriage License Requirements

A valid Vermont marriage license requires the parties to fill out basic information about themselves (i.e. names, towns of residence, places and dates of birth) and their parents (including names of both parents, mothers' maiden names, and their places of birth). Vermont law also requires that at least one of the parties sign the license in the presence of the town clerk, certifying that all the information provided is correct.

The following table outlines the specifics of Vermont marriage license and blood test requirements.

Code Section

18 V.S.A. §5131: Issuance of Civil Marriage License

Marriage License Requirements

In order to obtain a valid Vermont marriage license, there are certain age requirements that both parties must meet. Generally, two people who are each at least 18 years old can obtain a civil marriage in Vermont. While there are some exceptions for persons between the age of 18 and 16 to be married, no one under the age of 16 may marry under Vermont law.

Although persons are forbidden to marry a relative, Vermont does not require a blood test to obtain a marriage license

Where to Get a Marriage License

Vermont marriage licenses are issued by Vermont town clerks. If both parties are Vermont residents, the parties may go to the town clerk in either parties' town of residence. If just one of the parties resides in a Vermont town, the license must be obtained in that town.

Currently, a marriage license in Vermont costs $45. An authorized person must perform the wedding ceremony within 60 days from the date that the license is issued. Otherwise, the license is void.

Officially Registering License

A marriage license must be delivered to the person who will conduct the wedding before the ceremony. After the wedding, the officiant of the ceremony must complete the required sections and sign the license. This license then becomes a marriage certificate. Within 10 days after the wedding, the officiant must return the certificate to the town clerk's office where it was issued.

If you need legal assistance with properly obtaining a marriage license, you can contact a Vermont family law lawyer through FindLaw. Visit FindLaw's sections on marriage requirement basics and marriage law for more articles and information on this topic.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.