Virginia Car Accident Report Basics
Did you get into a car accident while driving on the roads of the Old Dominion? If so, you may be wondering whether you are required to file an accident report. In Virginia, you are not required to file a report with the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, if the accident results in injury, death or any property damage, you must report your name, address, driver's license number, and vehicle registration number to the state police or local law enforcement agency, any person who was struck or injured, any driver or occupant of another vehicle that was struck, and the owner or custodian of the damaged property.
Furthermore, it is the responsibility of local police officers to file a report on an accident if it results in injury or death, or more than $1,000 in property damage. Police officers investigating the accident also have the right to ask you and any of the other drivers involved for proof of valid insurance coverage.
Virginia Car Accident Report Overview
The table below covers information about Virginia car accident report basics, including how to file a car crash report.
Virginia Codes (Motor Vehicles) § 46.2-894
When to Report:
You must report an automobile accident to the State Police or local law enforcement agency, any people who were injured in the accident, and the owner or custodian of any damaged property if the accident results in any of the below:
How to File a Car Crash Report in Virginia:
If you are involved in an accident meeting the above conditions, you must report to the State police or local law enforcement agency, any person struck or injured, any driver or occupant of another vehicle that was struck and the owner or custodian of any damaged property the following information:
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
You are also supposed to render reasonable assistance to any person injured in an accident that you are involved with, which includes taking any injured person to a physician, surgeon, or hospital if it is apparent that medical treatment is necessary or is requested.
If you do not report when you are supposed to under Virginia law, you may be guilty of a Class 5 felony if the accident results in injury to or the death of any person, or if the accident results in more than $1000 of damage to property. You may be liable for a Class 1 misdemeanor if the accident results in damage of $1000 or less to property and you don't report when you are supposed to under Virginia law.
Research the Law
- Official State Codes
- Virginia State Laws
- Virginia Motor Vehicle Codes
- Virginia Traffic Laws
- State Traffic Laws
More Questions About Virginia Car Accident Reports? Talk to a Lawyer
If you're still wondering if you should report your car accident in Virginia, or are wondering how to file a Virginia car crash report, you can consult with a qualified car accident attorney in Virginia today. A lawyer will be familiar with the steps drivers must follow after a car accident and will be able to guide you through the process.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.