Virginia Protective Orders Laws
Protective orders, also called "restraining orders," require a named individual (typically, those charged with domestic violence or stalking) to stay a specified distance away from a named victim, for a certain amount of time. They are technically legal documents issued by a judge or magistrate to protect the health and safety of a person who is alleged to be a victim of any act involving violence, force or threat that results in bodily injury or places that person in fear of death, sexual assault or bodily injury.
Protective Orders In Virginia
In the Commonwealth there are three (3) kinds of protective orders that can protect you and others in your family or home:
- Emergency Protective Order (expires at the end of
the third day following issuance or the next day court
is in session, whichever is later).
- Preliminary Protective Order (lasts 15 days or until a
- Protective Order (may last up to 2 years).
How Much Does It Cost To File For A Protective Order?
There is no charge to file for a protective order.
What Is A "No Contact" Provision in a Protective Order?
Your protective order may contain a "no contact" provision. "No contact" means the other person cannot contact you directly or indirectly except as authorized by the court.
Penalties For Violation Of A Protective Order
Violation of a restraining order is considered contempt of court and charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor.
The following table highlights the main provisions of Virginia's protective order laws, with links to additional articles and resources.
|Code Section||16.1-253, et seq.|
|Activity Addressed by Order||Enjoin contact; exclude from dwelling or provide alternative housing; regarding minors: visitations; use of motor vehicle|
|Duration of Order||Emergency: 72 hrs. after issuance|
|Penalty for a Violation of Order||Contempt of court and Class 1 misdemeanor; no suspension of term|
|Who May Apply for Order||Any person or the court.|
|Can Fees Be Waived?||Yes|
|Order Transmission to Law Enforcement||Copy to local police department or sheriff's office|
|Civil Liability for Violation of Order||Yes, contempt of court|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Virginia criminal defense attorney or domestic violence lawyer, or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Virginia Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Virginia Protective Orders Laws: Related Resources
More Questions About Virginia Protective Orders Laws? Ask a Lawyer
If you're the victim of domestic violence or stalking, a protective order is your best option for keeping the offender at bay. If you're the subject of a protective order, you'll want to get an attorney as soon as possible. To learn more about Virginia protective orders laws and find out how they apply to your situation, you should contact a family law attorney in Virginia today.
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.