Washington Marriage Age Requirements Laws
The Basics of Washington State's Marriage Age Requirements
Nearly all states have limits on how young an individual may be when getting married, with certain exceptions. In Washington, you must be at least 17 to get married -- 18 to without parental consent -- but minors under the age of 17 may obtain a license after petitioning the court in "special circumstances." While the statute does not list these special circumstances, typically they include pregnancy or childbirth.
How to Get a Marriage License in Washington
As in most other states, marriage licenses are applied for at the county level (typically the county auditor's office). Washington marriage licenses require an application fee of $64, and there is a three-day waiting period from the date of application to when a marriage may take place. Below you will find information about marriage licenses pertaining to select Washington counties:
- King County - Seattle, Wa. (Recorder's Office: 206-477-6620)
- Pierce County - Tacoma, Wa. (Auditor's Office: 253-798-7435)
- Spokane County - Spokane, Wa. (Auditor's Office: 509-477-2270)
- Thurston County - Olympia, Wa. (Auditor's Office: 360-786-5406)
- Yakima County - Yakima, Wa. (Auditor's Office: 509-574-1330)
Do I Need to Consult with a Lawyer Before I Get Married?
You typically will not need an attorney prior to getting married, although some situations may be more complex than others. For instance, a 17-year-old woman who is expecting a child and wants to marry the child's father may benefit from the guidance of an experienced lawyer, since her request requires judicial approval. And if you plan to sign (or are confronted with) a prenuptial agreements, you may want an attorney to review it first.
Learn more about Washington's marriage age requirement laws below, with links to additional articles and resources. See State-by-State Marriage Age of Consent" Laws for a comparison.
|Minimum Legal Age With Parental Consent||Male: 17; Female: 17|
|Minimum Legal Age Without Parental Consent||Male: 18; Female: 18|
|Comments||Minors under 17 may obtain license in special circumstances.|
Note: State laws are constantly changing -- contact a Washington family law attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Research the Law
- Washington Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Washington Marriage Age Requirements Laws: Related Resources
You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help
Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.