Washington Marriage License Requirements

Created by FindLaw's team of attorney writers and editors.

When you've decided that you're ready to get married, there are several steps that must be completed before you make it official. One of the most important tasks is getting your marriage license. Although there are similarities, there are also different marriage license requirements in each state.

If you need to obtain a Washington marriage license, then you must be aware of the state's specific requirements to ensure that nothing goes wrong prior to your walk down the aisle.

Summary of Washington Marriage License Requirements

Although the statutes addressing marriage licenses in Washington aren't very complex, they contain a lot of information. It helps to read a modified version of the content written in simple language for better understanding. See the chart below for a summary of the State of Washington's marriage license requirements, including links to relevant statutes.

Statutes

Washington Revised Code:

 

Age Requirements

 

Applicants for the marriage license must be at least 18 years old to get married without consent.

Applicants that are 17 require the following:

  • Consent of a parent/legal guardian; and
  • Either the parent/legal guardian must be present at the time that the application is made or a notarized consent from the parent/ legal guardian must be presented.

Applicants that are 16 and under require the following:

  • Parent/guardian's consent; and
  • A judge's waiver.

Residency and Citizenship Requirements

  • There are no residency requirements.
  • Apply for a license at any county at the county auditor's office.
  • It doesn't matter the county where you obtain a marriage license because you can use it to get married anywhere in the state; applicants don't have to apply for a license in the county where they will marry.
  • At that time, you will pay the fees; the fees vary from county to county.

Marriage License Essentials

Forms of Identification:

  • Applicants must present a valid form of ID.
  • A Social Security number isn't necessary to get married. However, you must include the social security number on the marriage license form or your signature on a declaration stating that you don't have a Social Security number.

License Signatures:

  • Both applicants sign the application form and marriage license using the names that match the IDs that were presented.
  • After the marriage, the parties can go through the process of changing their name if they wish.

Blood Tests:

  • Washington doesn't require blood tests.
  • Each party must sign an affidavit showing that if either applicant has a contagious sexually transmitted disease, that both applicants are aware of it.

Fees: The fees vary according to the county and is paid at the time of the application.

Waiting Period: You must wait 3 days after obtaining the license before you can marry.

License Expiration:

  • The license expires 60 days from the date it's issued.
  • After the license has expired, it can't be used to get married; you must apply for a new license.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Washington Marriage License Requirements: Related Resources

Speak with an Attorney About Washington Marriage License Requirements

Getting the marriage license is a necessary step on the way to getting married. If you're facing any issues on your way to getting a Washington marriage license or need help understanding the requirements, don't hesitate to reach out to a skilled Washington family law attorney to assist you.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.