West Virginia Indecent Exposure Laws
Indecent exposure is a type of sex crime that makes it illegal to expose your genitals in public. Acts of indecent exposure are often committed for sexual gratification or to elicit a sexual response. In West Virginia, indecent exposure is a serious crime and violators are classified as sex offenders. The table below outlines West Virginia's indecent exposure law.
|West Virginia Code section 61-8-9: Indecent Exposure|
|Intentionally exposing a sex organ or anus (either your own or someone else's), or engaging in any overt act of sexual gratification under circumstances in which the offender knows that their conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm.|
|Breast Feeding Exception||
A mother breastfeeding a child in any location (either pubic or private) doesn't constitute indecent exposure.
|Misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for up to 90 days, and/or a fine of up to $250.
Sex Offender Registration Act
Sex offender registries are mostly aimed towards registering offenders who have committed rape or sexual abuse. However, some states also require sex offenders convicted of lesser sex crimes, such as indecent exposure, to register. In West Virginia, people who are convicted of exposing genitals in public are required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act.
Does urinating in public violate West Virginia's indecent exposure law? While urinating in public can violate the indecent exposure law outlined above, the actor would likely have a good argument that the act wasn't done under circumstances that would be likely to cause affront or alarm, and therefore doesn't qualify as indecent exposure.
- West Virginia's Sex Offender Registry
- The Federal Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act
- Sex Offenders and Sex Offenses
State laws change frequently. For case specific information about West Virginia's indecent exposure laws contact a local criminal defense attorney.
Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney
Contact a qualified attorney.