Wisconsin Marriage License and Blood Test Requirements

To get married in Wisconsin, you and your future spouse need a marriage license. Here's what you need to know to get your marriage license in Wisconsin.

You and your betrothed need to go down to the local county clerk's office together with your photo ID and official birth certificate at least 6 days, but not more than 30 days, before your wedding ceremony. Bring cash or check to pay the marriage license fee, which varies by county, but is approximately $50 to $110. Some counties accept debit or credit cards with a convenience fee. Also, be prepared to supply some statistical information. You won't need to get a physical examination or blood test to marry in Wisconsin.

The following table highlights the main aspects of Wisconsin's marriage license and blood test requirement laws.

Code Sections

Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 765: Marriage

Where to Get a Marriage License?

County Clerk's Office

Age Requirements

Generally, 18 years old; however, a 16 or 17 year old can marry with the written consent of his or her parents or guardians that's been notarized.

Residency Requirements

Either spouse must reside in Wisconsin in the county applied for a license for at least 30 days before the application or, for non-residents, the ceremony must take place in the county where the marriage license is requested.

Identification Requirements

Photo identification, such as a driver's license, passport, or green card and your certified birth certificate. You'll also need to supply your Social Security Number (if you've been issued one) and statistical information (such as your race, highest level of education, parents’ names, etc).

Blood Test Requirements

None since 1981.

Waiting Period

There's a six-day waiting period from the date of application to when the license is issued. However, a County Clerk can, at his or her discretion, waive the waiting period for a cost of approximately $5-$25.

Same Sex Marriage

As of October 6, 2014, same sex marriage is legal in Wisconsin.

Prior Marriage

Wisconsin law requires divorced people who want to remarry to wait until 6 months after the divorce is granted to remarry and bring prove the last marriage has ended.

Common Law Marriages

Common law marriages haven't been recognized in Wisconsin since 1917.

Cousin Marriage

Relatives closer than second cousins usually can't marry in Wisconsin. However, first cousins can marry if the female is 55 years old or older or either party submits a doctor's affidavit that the person is permanently sterile.

How Long is the License Valid?

You're marriage license will expire 30 days after it's issued, so you should get married within those 30 days.

Who Can Preside Over the Ceremony?

The officiant can be any ordained clergy member, religious leader permitted by the faith to officiate, judge, or circuit court commissioner. Also, the spouses may officiate by mutual declarations if that follows the custom of the religion to which they belong (for example, Society of Friends or Quakers). The officiant must be at least 18 years old.

Witnesses

At least two competent adult witnesses must be present for the ceremony and declarations made before the officiant.

Where to Get Marriage Certificate?

You can request a copy of your marriage certificate through the Wisconsin Vital Records Office either in person in Madison, Wisconsin, by mail, or by fax to 608-255-2035.

If you have questions about your upcoming marriage, you should consult with an experienced Wisconsin family law attorney.

Related Resources

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.