Wyoming Car Accident Report Basics

Between the vast plains, Rocky Mountains, and Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming is home to some beautiful places. But if you find yourself a bit too distracted while driving through all that bucolic scenery, you could end up causing a car accident. Whether a crash is your fault or someone else's, you'll need to know what state law requires of you at the scene of the accident. Read on to learn more about Wyoming car accident report basics.

Wyoming Car Accident Report Laws

To avoid steep fines and even jail time, it's vital to know what to do after a Wyoming car accident. First, you're required to stop, pull over, and render reasonable assistance to anyone who is injured, including transporting them to a hospital if necessary. You must also give your name, address, and vehicle registration number to others involved in the accident. If requested, you'll need to show your driver's license as well. Failing to follow these steps in an accident that involves injury or death is punishable by a year in jail, a fine of $5,000, or both.

If the accident does result in any injury, death, or damage to property to an apparent extent of at least $1,000, you must notify law enforcement immediately and by the quickest means of communication available. If the driver is physically unable to notify the police, another occupant of the car must do so.

How to File a Car Crash Report in Wyoming

If the accident occurs within a municipality, you must notify the local police department. Otherwise, contact the nearest office of the state highway patrol or county sheriff. The responding officer will investigate the crash at the scene of the accident or afterward by interviewing participants and witnesses. Their report must be forwarded to the highway department within 10 days of their investigation and the Department of Transportation will verify that you and the other drivers involved were carrying the required amount of car insurance.

Wyoming Car Accident Report Laws at a Glance

The chart below provides a summary of state laws related to Wyoming car accident reports, including links to key statutes.

Statutes

Law Enforcement Notification Required

  • Must notify police immediately and by quickest means of communication if accident involves injury, death, or property damage to an apparent extent of at least $1,000

Report Required

  • As of 2013, drivers are not required to submit reports in addition to those taken by law enforcement

Who Must Report

  • Driver must notify law enforcement as specified above
  • If driver is physically incapable of giving immediate notice to law enforcement and there was another occupant of the vehicle, the occupant must give the required notice

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Wyoming Car Accident Report Basics: Related Resources

Receive a Free Review of Your Car Accident Issues

Even though Wyoming law doesn't require you to file your own accident report, you do have specific obligations you must fulfill after an accident. Even a seemingly minor crash can result in a lawsuit or insurance dispute. Receive a free case review today to better understand your rights and obligations under Wyoming's car accident report laws.

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.