Skip to main content

Are you a legal professional? Visit our professional site

Please enter a legal issue and/or a location
Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select

Wyoming Gun Control Laws

Wyoming gun control laws are among the least restrictive in the United States. Wyoming law does not require a permit or registration to buy, own, or carry a gun.

Gun Control Laws in Wyoming

Every state has its own gun control laws that restrict the purchase and use of firearms. As you might imagine, a state known as the Cowboy State is going to have relatively lenient gun control laws. The following chart outlines Wyoming's gun control laws.

Relevant Statutes (Laws)

Wyoming's gun laws can be found in Wyoming Statutes, Title 6, Chapter 8, Sections 6-8-101 through 6-8-406, and Title 21, Chapter 8, Section 21-3-132:

Illegal Arms

Wyoming does not prohibit specific firearms.

Waiting Period

Wyoming has no waiting periods for purchasing a firearm.

Who May Not Own

Wyoming has few laws prohibiting who can possess a firearm. A person cannot possess a firearm if they:
  • Have previously pleaded guilty to or been convicted of committing or attempting to commit a violent felony
  • Have previously pleaded guilty to or been convicted of causing or attempting to cause bodily injury to a peace officer
  • Have been convicted of any felony in any state, territory, or other jurisdiction of the United States.
  • Have been adjudicated to be legally incompetent
  • Have been committed to a mental institution

License Required?

Wyoming does not require a person to have a license to own a gun.

Concealed Carry License Required?

Wyoming issues conceal carry permits, but they are not required for a Wyoming resident to carry a concealed firearm. If a resident is eligible for a permit, they may carry a concealed firearm without a permit. Permits still are available for residents who wish to be able to carry a concealed firearm in states that recognize Wyoming permits.

Open Carried Allowed?

Open carry is legal in Wyoming, and no permit or license is required to open carry.

Eligibility for a Concealed Carry License

To be eligible for a concealed carry permit in Wyoming, a person must:
  • Be a resident of the United States and have been a resident of Wyoming for at least 6 months
  • Be at least 21 years of age
  • Not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a firearm
  • Not be ineligible to possess a firearm under federal or Wyoming law
  • Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for the abuse of a controlled substance within 1 year before applying for the permit
  • Not have been convicted of a felony violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act or similar laws of any other state or the United States
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor violation of the Wyoming Controlled Substances Act or similar laws of any other state or the United States relating to controlled substances within 1 year before applying for the permit
  • Not chronically or habitually use alcohol to the extent that the person's normal faculties are impaired
  • Demonstrate familiarity with a firearm through completion of a firearm safety or training course, law enforcement experience, experience competing in organized handgun shooting competitions, or military service
  • Not be currently adjudicated to be legally incompetent
  • Not have been committed to a mental institution

Machine Gun Laws

Wyoming has no laws prohibiting the ownership or possession of machine guns, except in state game fields or forests.

Penalties for Illegal Firearm Possession

Wyoming has few prohibitions against gun possession, but its gun laws do include potential prison time.
  • Possessing a concealed firearm when ineligible under Wyoming law is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and up to a $750 fine.
  • A second or subsequent offense of possessing a concealed firearm when ineligible under Wyoming law is a felony punishable by up to 2 years imprisonment and up to a $2,000 fine
  • A person who has a previous felony conviction and possesses a firearm is guilty of a felony punishable by up to 3 years imprisonment and up to a $5,000 fine.

Penalties for Illegal Possession on or Near School Grounds

Wyoming does not have a general prohibition against possessing firearms on school grounds.

Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.

Wyoming Gun Control Laws: Related Resources

Do You Face a Wyoming Gun Violation?

If you face a gun possession violation, you could face time in prison. To protect yourself and your gun rights, contact an experienced, local criminal defense lawyer for a consultation.

You Don’t Have To Solve This on Your Own – Get a Lawyer’s Help

Meeting with a lawyer can help you understand your options and how to best protect your rights. Visit our attorney directory to find a lawyer near you who can help.

Or contact an attorney near you:

Next Steps: Search for a Local Attorney

Contact a qualified attorney.

Begin typing to search, use arrow keys to navigate, use enter to select
Copied to clipboard

Find a Lawyer

More Options